Halloween Creature Feature Skittles Nails

Hey There Polished People!!

Today I have for you a bit of a collaboration mani along with Alaina from The Little Canvas. She originally came up with the idea of doing different Halloween faces on each nail, and after I heard her idea I just couldn’t help but do one of my own. šŸ˜‰ I haven’t seen hers before creating my own, but I bet they’re super cute and I can’t wait to see how similar or different our designs end up to be. When I told her I was copying her mani idea, I asked if she wanted to post on the same day and in fact she did so- here we are! You can click on the link above to go to her blog, or find another link at the bottom to see her take on these nails. Without further ado- let’s see mine!

Halloween Creature Feature Skittles Nails

 

 

I just wanted to include this picture to show you how rough my free-handed nail art looks before top coat. Seche Vite is a life saver. šŸ™‚

 

A Quick Run Down Of How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat all those nails!
  2. Using 2-4 coats of each polish, paint your index finger with Jessica Viva La Lime Light; middle finger with ChG White On White; ring finger with OPI Flit A Bit; your pinkie with FP Black Expressionism and your thumb (not shown) with FP Black Expressionism.
  3. Index finger– use FP Black Expressionism and a small brush to paint Frankenstein’s hair and stitches for his mouth. Use a dotter to dot the black polish for his eyes. When the eyes are somewhat dry, use the dotter to make a slightly smaller blue or purple (any purple or dark blue will do) dot in the middle of the black dot, then use the smallest dotter you have to put a tiny little white dot (I used my ChG White On White) in the very middle of the eyes.
  4. Middle finger– use FP Black Expressionism to blacken the bottom corners of the nails to make a skull shape, then use a dotter and your small brush to make the eyes, nose and mouth.
  5. Ring finger– Use FP Black Expressionism to make the triangular eyes, inverted triangle nose and zig-zag-y mouth.
  6. Pinkie– Use ChG White On White and a striping brush to make three straight lines from the corner of your nail diagonally out to the bottom, side and opposite bottom corner of your nail, then use a small brush to make the interconnecting spider-web lines.
  7. Thumb (not shown)- choose your favorite Halloween glitter (I used ChG Make A Spectacle) and paint a stripe down the middle of your thumb from cuticle to free edge. I like to leave my thumb simple because I have a weird issue with my thumb and don’t like to bring attention to it.
  8. Give all your nails plenty of time to dry, then carefully apply your Seche Vite being VERY careful not to touch any part of the nail more than once. You can see I smeared my Frankenstein. šŸ˜¦
  9. Apply a final, perfect layer of Seche Vite when the first is dry, making sure to wrap your tips.
  10. Repeat on your opposite hand. šŸ™‚
  11. Tweet me and Alaina (@thelittlecanvas) a picture! ;D

If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to ask! I tried to run down the instructions pretty quickly. Don’t forget to check out Alaina’s Halloween nails by clicking here. šŸ™‚

I LOVED these nails!! They were so cute and fun! I’m really loving skittley nails lately! Let me know if you like these, or if you even like skittley nails in general. šŸ™‚ Please leave lots of comments! I’m dying to hear what you all think! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! šŸ˜€

17 thoughts on “Halloween Creature Feature Skittles Nails

    • Oops sorry about the cuteness. This should be the last “really cute” one. šŸ™‚ Speaking of cute- there’s this show called “too cute” where they just show all these obviously “too cute” baby animals and oh my gosh… It’s definitely cuteness overload. šŸ˜€ I think it’s on Animal Planet.

      • I know!! I used to watch the marathons of it. OH MY GOD, it was like hours of me squealing from cuteness. Especially with the kitten ones…cause they’re all so tiny and shaky and look like they have major static electricity problems. I haven’t watched it in a while though, the season might be over :/

        • I JUST discovered it so I’m taping all the old episodes. It’s just too much!! I love the puppies that can’t walk and are all clumsy and dumb. I just can’t get enough!!! Haha.

  1. So cute! I’m really enjoying skittles manis lately. I’m going to do my own for Halloween! I keep talking about this Halloween mani…I’d better deliver, hahaha!

    • I am too!!! I kinda still hate just different color skittles but if there is something that unifies them all I really love them!! šŸ™‚ I’m seriously excited to see your nails!!! SHOWWWWW THEMMMM!

    • Oh yeah, isn’t it? I was telling Wes (polishmemanly) about Seche and he didn’t have any!! I was like you have got to get some! So he did and I’m sure it’s going to change his nail polish life just like it did mine. šŸ™‚ Thanks so much! I was pretty happy with these, even with the little smudge. šŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

