I Herd That and Desert Sun Swatches and Review

Hey Everyone,

First off I just want to say thanks for reading and thanks for all the comments. I appreciate all the regular commenters and all of you who may just check my blog out sporadically but occasionally take the time to comment. I really enjoy reading and responding to you all so I just wanted to say thank you. πŸ™‚

Today I want to show you the other two polishes I got from the China Glaze On Safari collection- Desert Sun and I Herd That. It’s out in July, so if you like what you see you can pick them up on Sunday at the latest πŸ™‚ Let’s have a look-

Desert Sun

Color:

Desert Sun is a slightly burnt apricot, caramel color. It’s not quite as orange as it looks on my monitor, but it definitely has a bit of a light burnt orange-type color. It’s a very interesting color, not like anything I have and I actually really like it. I got a TON of compliments on this color when I wore it alone to work. I wasn’t sure everyone was going to “get” it, but they LOVED it!

Formula/Application:

Non-problematic. Opaque in 2 coats, I like 3.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Yes, Please!! I think this is an awesome color and it will also be a good base for nail art. I just like the soft, slightly neutral yet interesting color and the formula couldn’t be much better so… it’s a winner!! πŸ˜€

I wore my Desert Sun nails for a day and then added a glitter chevron tip for the second day of wear. What better glitter to pair with this than I Herd That!! These two colors work PERFECTLY together. Let’s see-

I Herd That (chevron tips)

Color:

I Herd That is a fine glitter that is a mix of gold, copper, orange and some holo pieces. The glitter is super-fine and goes on smooth. It’s the teeniest bit gritty before topcoat but one layer of topcoat smooths it out almost perfectly. If you’re a glitter-hater because of the grittiness (Cynthia) this one probably wont bug you much at all. You can see how it’s fine enough that I could make a near-perfect chevron.

Formula/Application:

Like I said above, the formula is great because it’s so nice and fine. Als0, the different colors keep it good and glittery looking, not boring at all. This glitter would be easy to wear opaque because as you can see my tips are opaque and they only took 2 coats to get them this way. Also worth noting is the fact that it wasn’t that hard to remove, didn’t even take foiling! I think the fine particles make all the difference. πŸ™‚

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Yes, please!! This is a perfect complement to Desert Sun, but even more than that- I’m excited to wear it on it’s own! I love the combination of glitters and the fine particles are really catching my eye for some reason. And I’m not gonna lie- the ease of removal (relative to other glitters) really makes me happy, too. I think this is awesome, a little different than anything else I have and I just love the neutrality of this glitter. I seriously love, love, love it!! πŸ˜€

How do you like these polishes? Are you planning on getting any of these if you haven’t already? Let me know what you think! πŸ™‚ Als0- get ready for some more stamping!! I’m having so much fun trying out my new Bundle Monster plates!!! As always, thanks for reading and till next time, Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “I Herd That and Desert Sun Swatches and Review

    • Thank you!! I wasn’t sure I was gonna actually like it- just thought it might be one of those “interesting” colors… but especially after I got a billion compliments at work I’m hooked! πŸ˜‰ And that glitter is perfect for a cute tip. I loved em! πŸ™‚ I can hardly wait to wear it opaque. πŸ˜€

      • Me too. Before I tried ChG OPI was my go-to nail polish but now I find myself buying way more china glaze. The formula is just soo good, never floods my cuticles like OPI sometimes does and it’s like half the price. I just can’t think of a bad thing to say about them! :$

  1. Looks like delicious caramel on you *Cue Homer Simpson mmm* Also, I was way impressed seeing the two glitters in person, and you are only bolstering my excitement.
    I need to get on this whole “untrieds” thing…can’t believe I have that collection sitting around! Well, yes, I can, with all of my current life drama….but, still! No matter how crazy life gets, the lack of a manicure is not an option, so there’s always an opportunity!

    • Haha way to keep a good perspective on things! πŸ˜‰ I always like to do my nails even when things are crazy cuz a) it’s kinds soothing to do my nails and b) it might sound kinda weird but even when I feel like things are crazy, it’s important to me to look as though they aren’t. Am I a control freak? I think so! :p You definitely need to get on the untrieds and try these!!! Especially the grey cuz that’s the one I’m kinda wanting. Also- when my green and black spongey stamped nails post (tomorrow? Maybe?) I want to know if that color is similar at all to the teal. I think it’s not but I’m unsure. Anyway- you gotta try these!! πŸ˜€

      • “even when I feel like things are crazy, it’s important to me to look as though they aren’t.” OMG, YES!!! I am so glad someone else’s mind works this way, haha.
        I LOVE these nails. Very cool. I’m not sure how the stamp compares to just sponging, but they look great!

        • Control freaks unite! Haha. I’m a very “thought out” type person. I like to think about things before I say/do them and I like to know what I’m doing next. I don’t know if you ever watched Desperate Housewives but I always felt like Bree. Haha.

          And about the stamp (the spongey stamped gradient nails)- I really liked it but with a coarse-ish sponge you could probably recreate it. Stamping is just so easy and uniform (for the most part) that I’ll choose a stamp over a sponge any day. πŸ™‚

  2. Ugh, I’m a slave to my Sally’s. I’m going to pick most of these up (including these two and the purplish one) once I get my July 15% off coupon. If it wasn’t for shipping I would just buy them online and save myself the pain. I was hesitant on the glitter but your description and swatch changed my mind πŸ™‚ Gotta have it!

    • You won’t be sorry!! I’m not sure if I wanna spend a little bit of polish money on the grey from this collection and maybe the other glitter (I’m not lion) orrrrr if I want to get a few of the OPI ulta exclusives which I’m well aware are old colors re-bottled but some of them are colors I don’t have. Decisions decisions. I’ll probably go tomorrow so I guess I’ll have to decide by then. πŸ˜‰ I’m kinda feeling this other glitter. They’re so fine and slightly holo and pretty. Plus- I think the lighter one will be like a nude-ish glitter w my skin and that’s sounds fantastic right now. πŸ™‚

    • I just loved this glitter! I usually go for chunkier glitter but w how fine it was it just made such a clean line for the chevron and I loved it. And clearly you can not go wrong pairing these two. πŸ˜‰ China Glaze might as well have sold them in a two-pack cuz they are perfect together πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comments!

  3. Wow…this one looks really pretty on you. It made me think of butterscotch on a sundae with some peanuts and a cherry and…I’m hungry. Anyway, this really is a great color and I love how you used the glitter for the chevron tips. Goygeous!

    • Thank you! All we need is a cherry on top. Now you got me thinking about ice cream. I would kill for a choco taco. Have you ever had one of those? They’re delicious. Mmmm. Oh and PS I got I’m Not Lion today! I think it’s gonna be purdy! πŸ˜‰

        • My husband and I were out in the front yard deadheading our rhododendrons and just doing some pruning and stuff the other day and we heard the ice cream man and I was like “GO GET SOME CASH… CHOCO TACOOOO!!!” and he ran inside but unfortunately the ice cream man (who btw is a dbaggy dude my brother went to HS with) apparently skipped our street. 😦

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

