Orly Fowl Play

Hey There Everyone:

I just have a quick post to share today. I recently found the Orly Birds of A Feather Collection at my local Sally’s and they all had “new” rings on the caps. Now, I don’t know why they’re labeled as new but I was happy because I’ve been wanting to get my hands on Fowl Play for a while. How happy was I that I finally found it? Let’s look and see.

Orly Fowl Play

Look how sparkly it is in the sun!

3 coats of Fowl Play w Seche Vite topcoat

Color:

Fowl Play is a deep purple base with lots of small duochrome flakes and some teeny tiny silver glitter. In the sun it’s sparkly as heck, as you can see. In low light it kind of flashes different colors like other flaky polishes. It’s very pretty and has a LOT going on.

Formula/Application:

Nice formula. In two coats it looked perfectly opaque, but then when I went outside I could see some uneven spots so I added a third. I’m sure you can be more careful and get away with 2 and be perfect. This dries a little dull so you’ll definitely want a good topcoat to fully bring out all of that shiny, sparklicious goodness.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

It’s not that I don’t like this polish, but I would trade it for something I wanted in a quick minute. It’s very pretty, and if you don’t have a bunch of flaky polish already you’d probably really love this. I, on the other hand, have all the Finger Paints flakies, Cult Nails Clairvoyant, and a couple other random polishes with flake glitter in them. Since I have plenty, this just doesn’t have quite the wow factor that I was hoping for. I give this a regretful no thank you. But if you don’t have lots of flakies and you like them, then I would definitely check this out. Come Fall I’ll probably want to wear this, but I think my high expectations left me a little disappointed.

What do you think about this polish? Do you love it/hate it/are mildly amused by it? Let me know what you think! Thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!!! πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “Orly Fowl Play

  1. How dare you say “no, thank you” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚ I think you hit the nail on the head because I don’t have many flaky top coats (2, I think) or flaky polishes, so maybe that explains why I love this one so much. I think it looks pretty awesome on you.

    • Are you scolding me?!! Haha. I think that’s gotta be it (about the “if you have other flakies”) cuz I love it for what it is, but I find myself going hmm it’s like a less dramatic version of…

      It’s pretty tho and I bet I’ll wear it unless I find something to swap it for. Knowing me- I’ll have it forever. πŸ˜‰

      • I’ve never done any swapping…how does that work and how do you meet people to do that? I guess I just wonder if shady people get involved.

        And yes, I’m scolding you! lol

        • Well I wouldn’t just swap w some random person but I’d swap w someone I talk to on twitter or something. I mean, for what I’d be swapping if they were shady and never sent their half I’d be sad but not devastated. I’d learn my lesson tho. :-/ I know there are swap boards on MUA. I’m not part of that. Seems a little drama-y when I hear about MUA sometimes.

          • I’ve never even been on MUA. Now if I only could understand Pinterest….lol I swear, the point of that place confuses me. Why is there always so much drama with nail polish/make up??? Like I was just reading about the newest Lynderella drama and I am just shocked. Oh well. I guess it’s fine since I’ve never really wanted any of them.

            • I can’t stomach Lynnderella. AT ALL.

              Pinterest is just a place to look at pretty pictures of things. I use it for craft ideas for work, nail inspiration, and that’s pretty much it. It’s kinda pointless… just sharing ideas through pictures that aren’t even yours.

  2. Just got this Monday in the mail and I’m going to put it on today. I have loved everyone’s swatches of it. It is my first flakie. All the other swatches I’ve seen of other flakie polishes have not caught my attention like this one has. I’ll probably do a little stamping on it too. 8)

    • You’ll love it if it’s your first flaky. And I love the idea of stamping over it. I was thinking about that myself but have so many other polishes I wanna use. My choices are paralyzing me!!! Haha. Thanks for reading and commenting. πŸ™‚

    • Glad you like it! πŸ™‚ Yeah, it’s probably a good night out-type polish. Although how should I know- I’ll wear black in the summer and neon on Christmas! :p

  3. Hmmm…still not convinced. I feel like I have a lot of dark purples like this and the flakies aren’t pronounced enough to be the distinguishing factor. I’ll have to see when I try it out…another on my list of way-too-many untrieds!

  4. I actually agree with you Nicole. This is one of the first polishes that I decided I “had to have” and then when I put it on I was a bit disappointed. It took ages to dry and kind of felt a little flat (for lack of a better word). I was expecting mind blowing awesome-ness and I only felt mild appreciation for it. It’s a pretty polish, but it didn’t knock my socks off. I think there are better flaky polishes out there. Just sayin’…

    • I absolutely agree with you! And I understand the “flat” comment. It’s just like… there. Doesn’t really stand out like I expected it to and just… yeah. I feel ya. πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

