Androgynie

Good Morning Polished People!

I like to say I’m all about contrast. I like to wear my contacts sometimes, then sometimes my glasses; I like to wear bright colors, then a nice nude; I like to go dark and vampy, then wear a pretty girly color; I like growing my hair long (it’s to the small of my back right now) and then cut it off short (I think I’d like a reverse A-line again); and I like to wear lots of sparkly glitter polishes, then boycott them and use nice, smooth, easily removable cremes for a while. I guess that’s why I like wearing polish out of season. I like wearing a dark, typically wintery color in the summer, and wearing bright summer shades in the winter. Today I’m show you a polish that is way out of season. It’s a dark, vampy, shimmery polish with some glitter thrown in for interest. Let’s have a look!

Orly Androgynie:

Right Hand

Left Hand

Color:

Androgynie is a black jelly base with lots of gold shimmer and sparse blue, light green, orange/gold and maybe a little purple hex glitter. It dries a little less than shiny, so you’ll want a good topcoat with this.

Formula/Application:

This polish was a little troublesome. I really loved it but I wish application was a little easier. The large glitter always sinks to the bottom, so you’ll need to either invert it before you use it and in between doing each nail (yes, it settles THAT fast), or shake it frequently. Now, will you get bubbles in your polish from shaking it? Maybe, so be gentle. The other problem I had with this polish is that the base is so opaque that the subsequent coats cover the glitter from the previous and don’t allow much peeking-through which is what’s so special about jelly sandwiches or pseudo jelly sandwich polishes.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

I don’t mind messing with it and I might try layering it over a regular black and see how that works. Overall this is a yes, please for me, but if you’re someone who likes a no-nonsense polish, this aint for you. 😉

How do you like this polish, and how much work are you willing to do to get a polish looking decent? Maybe it’s just me, but do any of you have a hard time when your nails are unintentionally asymmetrical? Like one hand has a lot more visible glitter than the other? (see mine above) It drives me a little crazy. I need symmetry and order in my life! 😉 Let me know if you’re the same way! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

19 thoughts on “Androgynie

    • I hear ya. I like it but the glitter is a little hard to get out. If the formula was a little better I think everyone would love it cuz its really a pretty combination!

  1. I like that you’re all about contrast! You keep it different and fun all the time 🙂 This polish looks nice. I was looking at some Orlys yesterday and noticed they have a few polishes where the glitter just sinks to the bottom and you need to shake them quite often. It seemed interesting, but I don’t know if I’ll like doing that while I’m trying to paint my nails lol.

  2. I think I like it better in the bottle than on the nails, but it could be much worse! Still looks pretty cool. I prefer symmetry, as well, but it usually only bugs me while I’m doing it and then I kind of get over it.

    • Yeah I totally agree. It’s just a funny polish cuz even if you invert it, it all sinks to the bottom again almost in a matter of seconds. Oh well- it could be worse, like you said and I do still mostly like it. 🙂

    • I thought you might like this one because it wasn’t too bad to remove or too scratchy due to the buried glitter but you have surprised me again! Haha. I’m trying to go a little light on the glitter for you lately but I DID just get that On Safari glitter so…. 😉

        • No harm at all! 😉 It’s only one though so at least you won’t be tempted too much. Speaking of those glitters- it was funny cuz the girl brought out “all” the polishes and was missing “I herd that” and and she’s like no, these are all of them and I described it, etc, and she went back reluctantly and GUESS WHAT SHE FOUND?! My polish! 😉

  3. I really like Androgynie:). You’re right re the opaqueness of the base but I guess black jelly base for a glitter is a difficult thing to pull off. My search continues though for the ‘perfect’ black glitter. These keeps me happy in the meantime though:)

  4. Pingback: Androgynous Redemption Of A Sort- China Glaze Get Carried Away Swatch and Review | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

