Indie Polish Guest Post From Alexandra!!!

Good Morning Polished People!!
Today I have a very special guest post from Alexandra. If you follow her on Instagram (bigdsgirl) or Twitter (@Silly_Poptart) you will see that this girl seems to get a box full of brand-spankin-new indie polishes every other day!!! Naturally, I thought it’d be fun for her to share some of her collections with you. πŸ˜€ Please make sure to leave her plenty of comments and encourage her to start her own blog! I know I’d wanna be one of the first to follow. I wish I had HALF the fancy indies she gets her hands on! πŸ˜‰ Without further ado, let’s turn it over to her!
Hello everyone! My name is Alexandra and I am fairly new to not only the nail polish world but also the blogging world. My obsession with nail polish actually began when I came across this lovely blog. This is the first blog I started following and my first window into the exciting nail polish world, so it is an honor to now be a guest host πŸ™‚ I can safely say I have Nicole to blame for my obsession with nail polish; Nicole, my nails thank you, my wallet not so much, haha! As far as nail polishes go, I am particularly fond of indie brands. I consider indie brands to be both small budding nail polish companies (e.g., Cult nails, Nail the Bytch, etc.) and also β€˜frankeners’ that either sell on Etsy, or off their own blogs/websites (e.g., Pretty and Polished, Nostalgic Lacquer, The Hungry Asian, and many others!). For those of you not familiar with the term β€˜franken’, it’s when someone mixes base nail polish with various polishes, glitters, and shimmers in their own home to create a unique, one of a kind lacquer. I love the creativity that goes into these kinds of nail polishes, its sort of like an art! This is the type of nail polish I have chosen to show you guys today. Lets get to it πŸ™‚

Pretty and Polished ‘Tart’

One of my favorite indie brands is Pretty and Polished. Chels Marie is the creator and she has an amazing imagination when it comes to nail polish. Her formula is always on point, minimal fishing for glitter is required, her customer service is great, and she provides speedy shipping; what more can a gal ask for! You can find her creations here on her blog. The nail polish I chose to show you is called β€˜Tart’. It has a creamy lavender base with purple, blue, white, gold, and pink glitters in various sizes. With 2 coats the glitter applied evenly and without a problem. I had to do a little fishing for the larger hex glitters but it wasn’t an issue. What I love about her nail polishes is how they are neither too thick nor too sheer; she finds the perfect balance in her formula so that the glitters can be seen through each layer of nail polish. You can find this beauty at her shop on Etsy along with many others. Her shop is currently closed but she re-stocks frequently. Her polishes sell out fast so snatch em up while you can!

First off I want to say a big THANKS to Alexandra for writing my very first guest post here on Polish Me, Please! I’d really like to do more of these from people who have different collections/styles/voices than me. She is simply awesome so I’m glad she was willing to do this. πŸ™‚ I wish I could say I was really sorry to her wallet… but let’s face it- NO MERCY! πŸ˜‰

How do you like this polish? Do you think she should start her own blog? If you saw the amount of polishes this girl buys on a regular basis you would understand she’s GOTTA start a blog to share allll those polishes and help justify her addiction. ;p Plus she has 2 super cute dogs and at least 1 super ornery cat that I bet she’d share some pics of. πŸ˜‰ Please show her some love and leave us some comments! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

39 thoughts on “Indie Polish Guest Post From Alexandra!!!

  1. That’s me!!!! Thank you again Nicole for your support and for letting me be a guest poster, it means so much to me!!! Now to start working on my own blog….. πŸ™‚

  2. Yay for guest posts! The polish looks like those malted easter egg candies…in a good way!
    Yes, Alexandra should start her own blog! She has the prerequisities…nail polish addiction and cute pets!

    • You’re right it does! I didn’t even think of that lol Those are so yummy πŸ™‚ With Nicole’s encouragement I think I really am going to start one, I might as well put all these polishes to good use! Thank you for comment πŸ™‚

    • You’re going to love it! I’m sure all the work put into blogs makes it all worth it when you wonderful followers, right Nicole? πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for your comment πŸ™‚

  3. Why does it seem to me that most indie polishes are glitters? Hi, this is your grouchy neighborhood glitter hater. lol Since I love any shade of purple, I love the base for sure. You should definitely start a blog Alexandra. Sharing the obsession really is sharing the love. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah they’re pretty much like alllll glitters it seems. I bet she’ll tell us more on that. πŸ˜‰ I think maybe it’s cuz glitter has so many different shapes and combinations, etc and I mean is there really a shade out there that hasn’t been done? So maybe it’s just more profitable cuz it’s more unique….? Hey- at lease you generally don’t have to worry about wanting all these indies although we all know you’ve been known to pick up some glitters, glitter hater. :p

      • You got that right. You’ll never find me stalking indie polish shops trying to snag stuff or getting on wishlists. F that. I know, I know…I’m just letting out some rage right now. lol I think the only indie glitter that has caught my attention is the one from Lynderella…the one with the bars and dots. That looked really awesome when I first saw it.

        • I think that’s connect the dots. There’s a lot of drama surrounding Lynnderellas unfortunately. I really want this one from… uh… I can’t remember but it’s called Color Blind Squared. Squre white and black glitter. I would pretty much give a kidney for that right now. I want some square glitter and I want black and white- perfect polish? I think so!

          • As I’ve said before, the drama completely ruins it for me so I won’t partake in the craziness. I remember when the UD Naked Palette came out and there was so much drama trying to get it. I got lucky and got mine very early and I love it. I might have not loved it as much if I had gone through all the drama.

    • Thank you for your comments! Yes there is def a lot of drama surrounding Lynnderella and she sells on EBay now, not Llarowe. To get ur hands on one of her creations is tough indeed. Connect the Dots is one of my favs of hers but there are so many other frankeners coming out that are not only doing similar creations, but better! I have a few myself; I love black and white glitter! I also love matte glitter πŸ™‚ Anyhoo, Indie brands are def more glitter than anything and I agree with Nicole that mainstream polish brands have pretty much covered all the base colors. With glitter you have more of a chance to get creative. There are indie sellers on Etsy that also make holos and shimmers. As far as stalking and wish lists….I can’t stand wish lists lol. Ive never been on one and now that Lynn isn’t on Llarowe, I probably never will be, and I’m ok w that! Stalking isn’t so bad, although u really only have to stalk the ‘older’ indie brands which tend to be more popular. There are a lot of newer sellers on Etsy that always have their shops open and you can easily snag their stuff :-).

  4. Alexandra:
    This polish looks amazing on you ! I encourage you to start blogging yourself! I think you’re very talented πŸ™‚
    Nicole: guest post, it’s a very good idea πŸ˜€

  5. This was such a great post! Yes, Alexandra, you should definitely start your own blog! πŸ˜€ I am loving this polish!

  6. Pingback: I’m With The Lifeguard. Wait… you, too?! | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

