Do You Love Purple? These Nails Are For You!

Hey There Polished People!

Today I have some super purple nails for all you purple lovers out there. Purple is my mom’s favorite color but she never even saw these nails. I paint my nails so often that even though I go over to my mom and dad’s a couple times a week at least, my mom still can’t see all my nails in real life. I try sending her pics on the phone while we’re talking but she’s got a non-smart phone so her pictures are super tiny. She’s always like “Hmmm… I see they’re nails but…” so then I just have to wait till I go over there and pull a picture up on my phone to show her. When I show her these I bet she’ll really like them. πŸ™‚ I hope you all like them as well!

Purple on Purple Needle Drag Nails:

I recently won a giveaway from Mae’s Beauty Reports which included (among many other awesome things) Revlon Grape and CG Grapevine. I decided to use these two polishes together to do these needle drag nails. πŸ™‚Β Revlon Grape is a dark purple polish and CG Grapevine is an opalescent lavender color that goes on semi-sheer. Both colors are pretty on their own, but together I think they look amazing!

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat them bad boys.
  2. Apply 2 coats of Revlon Grape.
  3. Apply 1 careful coat of CG Grapevine.
  4. On one nail, apply one thick coat of Grapevine, then quickly paint a stripe of Grape down the center.
  5. Immediately use a needle and starting from the far side of your nail, touch it to your polish and drag across towards you, parallel to your cuticle. Repeat them a few times at different places along your nail. Then do the same motion from the opposite direction in between the stripes you’ve created.
  6. Repeat steps 4 &5 for each nail. It’s very important that you do one nail at a time.
  7. Allow plenty of drying time and then apply your base coat.

Needle Dragging is soooo easy but there are a few things you need to remember:

  • It works best if your base color (grapevine in this case) is slow drying and your accent color (grape) is quick drying.
  • Two quick drying polishes will not work very well, and two slow drying polishes can sometimes look more marble-y than needle dragged. It will still look awesome though.
  • You MUST do one nail at a time and apply a fresh, thick coat of the base color for it to work. The polish you’re working with must be wet.
  • When you drag the needle across your nail, hold the needle at approximately a 30 degree angle to your nail. This will allow the bottom 1/8 to 1/4 inch of the needle to make contact with the polish, exaggerating the drag effect.
  • Give your polish plenty of drying time before applying your top coat so that a) it doesn’t smear and b) your polish will dry properly.

I loooooved these nails! And I also liked using my Mr. T owl necklace (that’s what I call it because it’s a giant medallion) as my prop! Too bad I can’t use it every time without it getting tedious. Using this prop made me think of a blog I read called Owls and Nail Polish I bet if the author reads this she’ll like that necklace! πŸ™‚ I love owls. πŸ˜€

How do you like these nails? Do you want to pin them on Pinterest?? Haha. Seriously tho- have you tried needle dragging? Do you have any other helpful tips to share? As always, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!!! πŸ˜€

21 thoughts on “Do You Love Purple? These Nails Are For You!

    • Thank you so much! This was definitely my best needle drag to date. It just worked SO much better with the quick dry polish on top. I liked how my marble -y ones turned out a long time ago, too, but this is how it’s “supposed” to look. πŸ™‚

    • That’s just your base color. 2 coats of the dark purple. That provides the base for the sheer grapevine. Does that make sense? Then put a thin coat of grapevine, then one finger at a time another thick coat of grapevine, a stripe of grape down the middle then drag.

    • Yeah it can be a little tricky, BUT if you use a quick dry color on top it really works a lot better. You should try it some time- maybe just on an accent nail? It’s not too hard once you just do it. πŸ™‚

  1. I loved this mani so much I just had to try it, mine didnt come out as good as yours. Some came out a cross between marbling and needle dragging but I stil love them. I put a link back to this post because they were so awesome!

  2. Pingback: NOTD 46 – Independance Day « Mae's beauty reports

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

