Camping Nails Day 1.5-3 ;)

Hello There Polished People!

Today’s post is of my 2nd camping nails. Yes, I did in fact change my nails while camping. I was telling Traci from Drinkcitra.com that we don’t do very much while camping. Just kinda hang out, the guys go get firewood, I hang around camp, etc, then we party at night. Well, when my husband was getting firewood one day I played solitaire for a while, sat outside and enjoyed the sound of the raging river right next to our site and then I went in the trailer and painted my nails. It might seem weird to paint your nails camping.. but too bad! Camp priss all the way! Haha. The only weird part was when I was foiling off the crazy glitterbomb nails from day 1-1.5 someone walked down to our site. I was trying to hide my foily fingers but I have a feeling they still saw. 😉 Oh well! Let’s see my 2nd camping nails. 🙂

Orange-Blurple Gradient Nails:

Holding my Redneck Wine Glass 🙂 We had different special glasses for each of the 3 nights.

This picture and the next have a coat of FP Asylum on top. 🙂

Polishes Used:

  • Essie Feed Me
  • Finger Paints Tangerine Tint
  • Finger Paints Inkblot Blue
  • Seche Vite
  • Finger Paints Asylum *last 2 pics only*

If you haven’t tried a gradient yet, I highly recommend you follow this tutorial. That’s what I’ve used for my last 2 gradients and I’ve actually been really happy with my results! 🙂

How have your gradient attempts turned out? Do you use Sammy’s method or do you just sponge away? Do you like my nails better with or without the flaky topcoat? I liked them better without it, but they were getting kinda rough-looking so I covered the imperfections up with the glitter. 😉 Let me know what you think! Till next time, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing! 😀

14 thoughts on “Camping Nails Day 1.5-3 ;)

  1. I just purchased make up sponges to try gradients. the only gradient thingy i did were my cruddy easter egg nails which I used a napkin haha. After I do your gnomes i’ll attempt. Oh lord i have so many nails to do. You think this is too simple for me and I’ll mess it up and be unhappy? hahahahaha

    • You do have white the line up to be trying!! Haha. Idk if they’ll be make-you-angry simple or not. There’s a lot of sponging to make it nice and smooth so you might be able to perfect your gradient and be okay w it. We’ll see! Haha.

  2. Wow…a manicure while camping…I think you have me beat! 😉 Me likey. I at first was going to say that I liked it without the flakie, but I think I might like it with the flakie, too! I haven’t done a gradient myself yet, but should try it. I always have good intentions for more creative nails, but rarely do it.
    I joined Twitter yesterday. Hopefully I’ll get a pic up for you soon!

    • I thought that was probably you last night! I bet you’ll like twitter if you spend some time on there. 🙂 I like them w the topcoat but it kinda darkens them which I don’t like as much. Also by the time I did the flaky topcoat they were pretty beat up so that’s probably more of the reason I don’t like them than the actual topcoat itself. 🙂

  3. Totally normal to do nails while camping! Interesting color choice. I think the glitter pulls it together somehow. I’ve yet to try a gradient; I’m still on dotting tools and stripes….

    • Dotting and striping, but especially dotting is a girl’s best friend. 😉 Glitter over a gradient hides all the little flaws, I just don’t like how it darkened it. Maybe next time I’ll try something a little different in a clear base not that milky one like the FP flakies have.

  4. I never would have thought that camping and doing your nails would work out. lol Anytime that I do my nails, I have to have my full spread of crap that I use. I have light tan microfiber sofas and I always end up doing my nails on my sofa. It’s just a matter of time before I spill a bottle of nail polish and ruin my sofa. I actually spilled some of the black konad polish on the carpet and I thought I’d never get it out. It took a long time and a lot of pure acetone and cotton but it did come out.

    I am a big fan of flakies and I am still sad that I didn’t get any of the FP flakies. I never found them! I really like your gradient nail looks. I’m going to have to try it now that there is a better method than the one I used before.

    • You never did??? Boo! We should swap sometime if I ever get a swap list together. :-/ I’ve been meaning to do that and a wish list but have I done it?? No. 😦

      I just stick my remover and a little bag I have w my files, etc in it, along w about 6 polishes in my cotton ball bag and take it w me. I usually do my nails on my couch too. I haven’t spilled any polish (yet) but my couch is super light tan too so if I do I’m screwed. And my floors are wood so remover would ruin them!

  5. lmao! I think it’s hilarious that painted your nails while you went camping haha. In a good way 🙂 I wonder if I would be able to do that…lol!
    Your gradient turned out amazing! I haven’t tried Sammy’s way, but I think I need to try it! I usually just sponge away, but her way seems like it blends the polish better 😀

    • Hey you can try it when you go camping! Haha. I just had some time so hey- why the heck not!? Plus I like semi-horrifying my husband’s family w my quirks. ;p

      Thank you so much about the gradient!! I can NOT do it just w a sponge and one color at a time. Her method has completely made gradients possible for me. 🙂 I have a feeling yours would look great even w/o this method but you should still try it! Whatever you do, your nails are always hot on beautylish. I’m so jealous! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Nails for Spring & Summer | Fashion for your Twenties

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

