Orly Flash Glam- Mermaid Tale Review

Good Morning!

Today I want to share a quick review of Mermaid Tale with you all. I teased you a little when I first bought the glitters from the Flash Glam collection and now I’m finally ready to post the swatches. πŸ™‚

Orly Mermaid Tale:

2 coats over FP Inkblot Blue

Color:

Mermaid Tale is a mixture of green (I would guess 90%) and turquoise micro, small round and medium hex glitter. It’s in a clear base which makes it versatile enough to wear alone or layered over any color of polish.

Formula/Application:

This is a little thick, but not problematic. The glitter is dense and would reach full opacity in about 3 healthy coats. I think if you wanted it opaque it would be awfully thick, though, so layering is going to be your best bet here. I wanted to put this over a base color for that reason and because I didn’t want to use up too much polish. What? I’m a hoarder!! haha. I almost always put a base color under my glitter, even when I wear it opaque because I hate having that naked front edge of my nails. Glitter just doesn’t wrap tips, y’know? And I HATE how naked tips look. Okay, okay, I’m a hoarder and OCD. :p

Yes, Please!or No, Thank You:

Yes, Please!!! I love the slightly different colors of glitters and the three different sizes of glitter. Even when layered over the blue polish it was super sparkly. I can see myself wearing this over black and loving it, too πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think! These polishes should be available where ever Orlys are sold starting today! πŸ™‚ Keep your eye out for my reviews of the rest of these glitters. Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!!

12 thoughts on “Orly Flash Glam- Mermaid Tale Review

  1. I want Mermaid Tale! Damn my crappy Sally’s people. Ugh 😦 I might go there today to look for it again and the China Glaze neons but I’m 99.9% sure I’ll fail. Good news is that I found out an Ulta is FINALLY opening in the fall about 25 minutes away from me πŸ™‚ Not incredibly convenient, but far enough to prevent real damage.

    • I saw that on twitter!! Yayyy!!! It is kinda far but that’s not always a bad thing! Haha. Yknow what’s funny- my Sally’s sometimes has the new collections but idk if they even have the ChG neons yet. They have the FPs, the Orlys but I dont think I’ve seen the ChGs. What the heck!? I’m just glad they had these! πŸ™‚

  2. *Covering my eyes* Why??????????????? πŸ˜›
    That looks so gritty that I’d probably freak out wearing it. I know that women don’t really wear pantyhose that much anymore, but can you imagine trying to put some on with gritty nails?

    • Considering I can’t even TELL you when I’ve ever wore pantyhose… hmm… maybe in grade school cuz I felt “grown up”… I’m sure I’d rip the heck outta some pantyhose! This is actually not too gritty due to the super-thick base, but it’s still super glittery. Actually tho, in all honesty it’s pretty easy to remove even because it’s so covered in clear polish. The only problem (for people like me who want to…) is wearing it opaque because the base is so thick you could have 1/4” thick nails and still have a couple bald spots.

      • Thinking of layers of glitter just gave me the chills. I know I’m in the minority, but I like pantyhose. lol And I really mean pantyhose…not tights. Yeah, I’m 90 years old.

        • Hahaha I just laughed out loud about you being 90. Why do you wear them? I don’t even understand what they’re for. I mean, they’re not warm (I sometimes wear leggings), and they just kinda make your legs look a little shiny… right? Clue me in cuz inquiring minds want to know! πŸ˜€

          • Oh, I don’t usually wear them but I don’t mind wearing them. I had to wear them for a job I had because of our uniform so I guess I just got used to them. I had this other job for a while working for the county and we had to wear pantyhose/nylons even if we were wearing pants which I thought was kinda weird.

  3. Mermaid Tale looks great alone, but I really like it over the Inkblot! Can’t wait to see these in person…although, I’ve banned myself from nail polish for a while so it won’t matter 😦 I’ll just enjoy them from afar… πŸ™‚

    • Well I’ll try to get some better pics up (Booo cloudy weather when I was wearing this) and you can really admire it then. πŸ™‚ It’s awfully purdy!

  4. Mermaid’s Tale is nice…will probably skip it myself, but it’s nice. And I am kind of with Cynthia on the pantyhose (guilty side-glance). I do usually wear them at work events. I feel like they are more professional. Plus, they cover up flaws (I do not have great legs) and, most importantly, suck you in! I guess that can be considered a disadvantage, but I’ll suck it up (literally) ’till after work.

    • Haha. I just never wore pantyhose so to me I’m like “what are they even for?” I wouldn’t mind them making my legs look better tho! πŸ˜‰

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

