The Famed, The Fantastic- Revlon Whimsical

Hey There Polished People!

A while back I was soooo lucky to receive a bottle of Revlon Whimsical in the mail from a Twitter friend. We didn’t swap, she just was so nice to send it to me. Random act of nail polish loving kindness!!! She overheard (overread?) my conversation with another friend and just offered to send it to me. It was shocking and soooo sweet! Her and I hadn’t even been chatting before that. Anyway, I don’t know if she wants to be outed so for now I just want to say THANK YOU and “you know who you are.” πŸ™‚

I had looked FOREVER for Revlon Whimsical so when I got it I was hyped to try a billion different things with it. I hope you all like pictures! The first thing I thought I was going to do was layer it over ChG Secret Periwinkle.

2 coats of ChG I’ve Got A Secret Periwinkle

4ish layers of Whimsical over Secret Periwinkle

I did not like this color combination so I thought I would try just using Whimsical on its own, layered to opacity.

This is, I kid you not, 6 or more layers to reach relative opacity.

I realized I’d made a mistake trying to wear it un-layered. I hated the color, hated that it wasn’t even really opaque so I decided let’s try to matte it. Matting a color sometimes hides a VNL, and it makes a color look frosty so I thought that may be a good option.

Shiny v Matte

I actually really liked the matte Whimsical (although most of my Twitter followers voted “shiny” Go figure!). What I didn’t like about it is that between the number of coats I needed and the polish itself, even after an entire day (yes, 24 HOURS) Whimsical wouldn’t dry harder than fresh candy corn. At one point well after the 24 hour mark, I pressed my nail against something and seriously rubbed an entire nail’s worth of polish off. It was annoying to say the least. Do not wear Whimsical alone to opacity. You will be sorry. The next, final, most obvious and best way I wore Whimsical was layered over ChG For Audrey.

2 coats of Whimsical over For Audrey πŸ™‚

In the end- I LOVE Whimsical and I’m so thankful a little nail fairy helped me obtain it. If I ever find a bottle in store I’m picking it up because when layered over the proper color it’s sooo cute. I felt like I should go to a baby shower with these nails πŸ™‚ They’re so cute with blue and pink and just enough glitter in that light blue jelly base that it just looks really nice. It’s a low effort jelly sandwich. If you can find it, I definitely recommend you pick it up. Als0- I hear it is a dead-on-dupe for Deborah Lippmann Glitter In The Air, so I guess if you wanna blow 20 bucks instead of 6… you could go that route as well. πŸ™‚

Do you have this polish? Do you like what I’ve done with it? It’s nothing too unique in the end, but y’know… sometimes if it aint broke, I just shouldn’t try to fix it! πŸ˜‰ Let me know how you like it! Thanks for reading, thank you to my nail polish fairy, and as always- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

18 thoughts on “The Famed, The Fantastic- Revlon Whimsical

  1. I was so excited when I found Whimsical at Rite Aid back in March. I had heard so much about it and how elusive it was so I just had to have it even though I’m not a pastel person. I couldn’t wait to wear it for my Easter mani… boy, was I disappointed!
    Like you, I tried wearing it on its own and after many layers, decided it was just ugly. Next I swatched it over various undies- pale pink, lilac and light gray, still not impressed. Finally, I settled on wearing 3 layers of Whimsical over Sinful Cinderella. I also topped it off with WnW Kaleidoscope for some extra sparkle. It wasn’t spectacular but made for a sweet Easter mani.
    What I did find hard to believe was that I had used almost half a bottle of Whimsical just to find a decent combo. With these type of results, I would have really been upset if I had spent $18 for a bottle of DL Glitter in the Air. Thankfully it was only $1, as Rite Aid was running a $3 store coupon and I had $1 coupon manufacturers coupon.
    If I didn’t have Whimsical I would probably still want it just because. Now that I’ve worn it, I’m not in a hurry to wear it again. I don’t even think it’s big a deal now, as one of the Rite Aids in my area has had 4 bottles of Whimsical on the shelf for the past month!

    • Haha isn’t that just how things tend to work out?? I’m sure now that I got my hot little hands on it I’ll see it everywhere! It definitely MUST be layered cuz yeah it’s quite horrendous by itself. Looks like snot with some glitter mixed in. And that’s a “clean” description. Haha.

      But it is really nice over the just-right blue. I almost never wear a polish twice but if I’m in the mood for pastels I’ll dig this out again. I’m usually not one for pastels either so it was kinda cool to get one. And I’m with you- if I spent 20 bucks for this if be super disappointed!

      Hopefully this post and your comment will help people not waste half a bottle experimenting cuz I did the same thing! Haha. I was like, “where’d all the polish go?!” Thanks for commenting!!

  2. Omg 6 coats?! I would have stopped at 3, you’re a determined one lol. I like it matte but I think it looks best over For Audrey πŸ™‚ I have this polish too that I found a long ass time ago, but I’ve yet to wear it. I think I wanted it more for the thrill of the find lol. I’ll wear it eventually, its super pretty…I just think I’ve seen so many swatches of it that I don’t feel like wearing it myself now ya know.

    • Well that’s why I wanted to do something different with it and was so dang determined!! Haha. I really like it! (over for Audrey) This is my first sparse glitter topcoat, if you can believe that. I always wear mine opaque! The lack of symmetry was a little challenging but I’m so glad I have it… even if it’s not quite unique. It’s like any hot polish I see it a lot but want it for myself. πŸ˜‰

  3. Aw that was sweet of her to send that to you! πŸ˜€ I really like the way it turned out over For Audrey! Hehe and I also like it matte! πŸ˜›

    • Yes wasn’t that just SO nice?! I was surprised and so grateful. πŸ™‚

      I liked it mattified a lot too, but the candy corn consistency just didn’t do it for me. 😦 Oh well- next time I’ll matte the Whimsical/For Audrey combo. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comments!!

  4. I have Whimsical, but haven’t used it yet. I, too, grabbed it because I saw it and had heard of its popularity, not particuarly because I wanted it, haha. I like it over For Audrey…that will be my first attempted combination!

    • That’s funny. I do that sometimes too, tho. Haha. Yeah For Audrey is a really good base and also since the actual base of Whimsical is so light I thought I might attempt a jelly sandwich w it some time. We’ll see. I don’t usually like pastels but this polish has me for some reason. Must be the hype surrounding it. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading and commenting!!

  5. Hello! I have Whimsical and I’ve tried it over different shades of blue, mint colors. pinks, and over white! I love to put it over white and then put a light coat of OPI Bubble Bath (or from the new york city ballet collection) to make is a jelly sandwich. You can see a picture on my instagram account. @samlovespolish

    • Hi! That sounds like a cute combination. It’s definitely a good layering polish and that sounds like a good idea to add a jelly over the top to give it an extra jelly-sandwich-type look. πŸ™‚ I have a nice white jelly so maybe I’ll have to try that. That only bad thing is that it would take away what little blue is in the polish, but that might look good anyway. Thanks for sharing that tip! πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

