I Just Love A Good Hand Salve

Hey Everyone!

I’m back from camping today and I’m so happy to be home. 🙂 If you read my camping rant post you will probably be relieved to know that Bubba did ride in the trailer (in his kennel of course) and it was soooo nice. Helped me arrive much less grumpy than usual, and I’m sure it was a lot comfier for him as well. We had nice weather, had a relaxing time and stayed up till day light. 🙂 I hope you all had a nice weekend and took a minute to appreciate all the veterans and current soldiers and their families. ❤

Since my skin got dried out from camping I thought I'd share with you some of the products I like to use. Below you'll see the stack of salves/ creams/ etc that I just keep by my bedside!

20120529-015722.jpg

From top to bottom, left to right they are: Dionis Blue Ridge Wildflower goats milk cuticle cream, Burt’s Bees Almond Milk beeswax hand creme, A&D ointment in an old lipgloss tub, JR Watkins aloe and green tea hand and cuticle salve, Original Badger Healing Balm, CND solar oil cuticle oil, Burt’s Bees lemon butter cuticle cream, and good old petroleum jelly. I use all these sporadically. The one I use the most is my Badger Balm (I LOVE this stuff) but I use all of them whenever the mood strikes me. I like oils and creams/cremes/salves because they stay on my skin longer and really make an impact. I don’t mind if they’re kind of thick or oily feeling because I put it on before bed and just let it soak in all night. I have personally found that when I’m using these products and keeping my cuticles hydrated and healthy, not only do my nails LOOK so much better (let’s all admit it- crusty cuticles look sick) but also I swear my nails grow faster. I don’t know a lot about nail anatomy but I feel like it makes a huge difference. Plus, the smell of these products is so good it’s like aromatherapy as I drift off to sleep. Right now I’m itching to get this post done so I can apply my chosen product of the night (Badger sleep balm) and smell it. In fact, I’m gonna wrap this up and do a separate post on all my Badger balms later so I can use them now. I love this sleep balm so much I can’t even bear to wait.

What do you use on your cuticles? Do you stick with one product or do you like to have a variety to choose from like me? Have you tried Badger Balm? How about the Dionis goats milk stuff? That was my favorite till I discovered Badger Balm. Badger wins out because all of their products smell are organic. And they’re fantastic!!! Till next time, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!

17 thoughts on “I Just Love A Good Hand Salve

  1. Yay, welcome home 🙂
    I use Julep’s Cuticle Oil from one of my Julep pakcs, I love it, I have also used the Burts Bees stuff and love it. also China Glaze had a Holly Berry Christmas one I had that was like nail polish and i loved that one. but one using right now is the Julep oil that comes in like a glass almost lipgloss roller thing. love it!

    PS… you are the winner to my giveaway wooohooo!! http://maesbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/and-the-winner-is/

    • I pretty much love any kind of hand or skin treatment so long as it smells good. 🙂 The only thing I don’t have is one in a rollerball-type applicator like you have- that’d be nice since its so mess-free and portable!

      Awesome!!!! I just emailed you and I’m so excited. I’m one of those “never win anything” people so I’m hyped! I can’t wait to try all those goodies and add new things to bedside stack! Haha. Thank you!

  2. I keep hearing about Badger Balm, but I’ve yet to look into it so I’m looking forward to your post on it! I used to be a major cuticle picker because they would get dry so easily so a part of my nail blogging was to break the life long habit. My cuticles look sooo much better..not as good as others, but great for me. I do relapse every now and then though 😦 lol.
    I use Lush Lemony Flutter 1-2 times a day and lately Julep’s cuticle oil that I got in a mystery box, but before that I used Avon’s cuticle gel which I still use when I don’t want that oily feeling. I also lotion up all the time which I never did before. I really like The Body Shop Vitamin E Hand & Nail Treatment, its really light but moisturizing. I’m almost out of it though and I’m determined to go through some other bottles of lotion I have before I repurchase. Oh, and I use Bath & Body Works True Blue Spa 60 Second Manicure Hand Scrub. It smells really good and its a sugar scrub, I use it about 1-2 times a week. Who knew my hands required so much product?! I wonder what hand models go through now.

    • Gosh no kidding!! I feel like I use plenty of lotion but the backs of my hands always look sad to me. Badger Balm is my absolute favorite but I’d like to try that lush stuff. I hear so many good things about it. Hand models must spend all day w slippery lotion hands!! Haha.

  3. Yay! I’m glad to hear you had a great time! I’m going camping with some relatives in August and can’t wait! It’s been so long…
    I loved seeing the products you use! I always like seeing what special products other people use…hehe. I don’t use too many. For my hands I use gold bond ultimate healing. It works magic for me. For cuticle oil, I’m using up this almond oil I got a long time ago…still seems to do the trick 🙂

    • I love hearing about others people’s products and routines too. 🙂 There are just so many to try and so many different flavors (scents) hence my giant stack. Haha.

      Camping in August sounds great. It is still cool here so camping wasn’t the lay out in the sun kinda camping I’d prefer. The good thing about cool weather is it keeps the mosquitoes down- and they love me so that’s a very good thing!! 😉

  4. I just started getting into these! I use Burts Bees lemon butter cuticle cream, Burts Bees hand salve, sally hansen cuticle oil, and sally hansen healthy cuticles now. I’m looking to get Lemony Flutter from Lush bc Ive heard so many good things about it! Now I wnna try the badger…..

    • Oh yeah you gotta try Badger Balm. They even have cuticle cream but I don’t have that… yet. Haha. I just love stuff that is really healthy for your hands and that smells good. I can’t get enough, clearly! 😉

  5. I use the CND Solar Oil and really like it for my cuticles. I have another bottle of cuticle oil that I got from Sally’s and I use that one for all over my hands when I do a full mani. My go to hand lotion stuff is anything by L’Occitane en Provence. I love all their hand creams. My favorite scent is probably the Cherry Blossom one. I was a horrible cuticle picker for many years. It was so bad that I used to make my fingers bleed pretty much every day. I try to use the sally hansen cuticle removers on a regular basis to make sure my cuticles don’t get out of control.

    • I used to pick my cuticles so bad, too. I just can’t stand when they get dry and hard, it’s like when they get like that I HAVE to pick at them because bloody and painful is better than dry. I know that’s flawed thinking but I just can’t help myself. I do still sometimes cut my cuticles tho. I swear sometimes my SH instant cuticle remover works so well, and sometimes it seems like my cuticles are beyond it’s realm. What kind do you use every day? If I used mine every day I think it’d dry the heck out of my cuticles and nails.

      • I use the sh instant one and also the sh aloe vera one which I like more. I also have that blue cross liquid one with lanolin that I use from time to time. What I do is I use the cuticle remover maybe 2-3 times a week and right after I slather my hands with lotion and cuticle oil that I heat up a little in a bag in the microwave. It really helps. I still cut my cuticles, though…I can’t help it. Pushing them back doesn’t work for me but I guess it’s a vicious cycle because they say cutting them is really bad and will make them grow back thicker.

        • Yeah pushing them back only works a little for me. Maybe cuz I’ve always cut them! I know it’s bad… Shame on me but I totally advocate it. Haha. What do you mean you heat it up in a bag? Oh and PS I had a happy hissy fit when I saw you’d got Alfie!!! I think my WordPress app is messed up cuz I don’t think it’s posting the comments I make on your blog. I finally figured out how and now it’s not working. What the heck?! Anyway- in case you don’t get them- congratulations and I’m so excited for you. He’s the cutest thing ever!!! And bigger than I expected! 🙂

          • Thank you my dear! 🙂 I feel like everyone who has been following my blog and quest to get him is part of the whole experience. Alfie is just staring at me right now and I can tell he’s ready to pass out. Once he chills on the tile and puts his toys in the corner, I know he’s getting ready. I think I have gotten most of your comments…maybe just not the one about the hamburger without the hamburger. hahaha

              • And I forgot to answer your question: I squirt some lotion and some oil in a plastic bag and I pop it in the microwave for a few seconds so it gets hot. Not like so hot you’ll get burns, but hot enough so that it feels good. Then I put my hands in there and squish it around and then leave the bag on my hand for 5 minutes. Then I heat up a wet towel in the microwave or I pour some hot water on it and then I rub off all the oil and lotion. It’s my own spa manicure that I haven’t gotten in ages at the salon! I’m too cheap to do that now after all the money I spend on nail polish. And I have not done my nails since I got Alfie!!! I’m going to try tonight because I am having withdrawls.

                • That sounds very fancy!! I was going to ask you that question again on your blog cuz I definitely wanted to know. I’ve never been to a “spa” but I didn’t get fake nails put on and filled a handful of times in high school. That’s the extent of my precessional nail experience. 😉

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

