As Close to Clarins 230 as I’ll Get- Chunky Holo Fuchsia

Good Morning Polished People!

You know what’s really lame? Missed nail polish opportunities. When  I was younger I had all these incredible polishes and then I forgot about them in some drawer or bin for approximately ever. Some of the polishes I remember in particular were some Street Wear polishes, among others. Well, when I found those hidden gems years later- they were all dried up and ruined!! Or so I thought!!! At the time I didn’t know that you could reconstitute polishes with nail polish thinner and I threw them away!! 😥 Whenever I see people’s pictures on Twitter of their vintage Street Wears I just kick myself! Let that be a lesson to you- NEVER throw away your old polish! All you need is some nail polish thinner from Sally Beauty Supply (it’s not even expensive) and you can turn your dried up, dusty, crusty polishes back into perfect nail polish that you can use OR give to me! Haha. I always take donations! Seriously though- I WILL take your old dry polishes ;p

A polish I wish I’d had, but never did, is the famed Clarins 230 aka Unicorn Pee. It’s a pretty multichrome fine glitter topcoat that transforms any polish into some thing fantastic. I never got my hands on that, and I don’t want to spend exorbitant amounts of money on Ebay so I don’t think the lovely Clarins is in my future. There are some near-dupes out there and one of them is Klean Color Chunky Holo Fuchsia. I’m not sure if it’s exactly the same, but it’s definitely a cool topcoat. You wanna see it?

Klean Color Chunky Holo Fuchsia:

Chunky Holo Fuchsia over Orly Mysterious Curse

Chunky Holo Fuchsia over Orly Mysterious Curse

Chunky Holo Fuchsia over SOPI Eve-y On The Eyes

Chunky Holo Fuchsia over SOPI Eve-y On The Eyes

Color:

Chunky Holo Fuchsia is a holographic/multichrome microglitter in a sheer fuchsia jelly base. It is very thin so it’s perfect for layering. In the first couple of pictures you can see the different colors of the glitter at different angles. The glitter changes from a pinkish color to gold to green to orange. It’s kind of the standard color-shifting glitter that you see in a lot of polishes these days. In the last couple of pictures you can see how the effect is more subtle over the medium purple Eve-y On The Eyes. It still has lots of colors in real life, but mostly looks like a super-sparkly pink jewel. Pretttty 🙂

Formula:

This formula is a little thick and super smelly. It has that same awful latex paint/ near-spoiled dairy/ Mod Podge smell as the Chunky Holo Black, which is definitely NOT a good thing, but this polish is so pretty that I will put up with it. The glitter is pretty dense so you only need one or two coats, and it’s just so darn pretty! I don’t know if this would ever build to opacity though, so I’ll have to try that sometime and get back to you all.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Despite the smell, this is a Yes, Please! for me. I like the versatility of this polish and I don’t have anything exactly like it. I still want the Clarins polish if I should somehow magically come upon it, and I’d love some Max Factor Fantasy Fire (which is only sold in the UK  :(( ) but for now… this’ll do!

Do you have Clarins 230 or MF Fantasy Fire? Do you think this is a suitable substitute? Also- with all the flaky polishes out there and multichrome glitters, is it just me or does this just not seem QUITE as mind-blowing as it might have been like 6 months ago? Let me know what you think! As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! ;D

6 thoughts on “As Close to Clarins 230 as I’ll Get- Chunky Holo Fuchsia

  1. This is definitely pretty but considering your appetizing scent description, I don’t think I’d be able to deal with it. I wish my mom had gotten into polishes when I was younger so I could have stolen them all. She rarely painted her nails so she never had much of a stash. I really wasn’t into nail polish in my teens or even in my early-mid 20’s. It all started with my weekly spa manicures which was my relaxing treat every Friday after work. Once I started doing my own nails and realizing I did a better job, I stopped going and that is where my nail polish obsession began.

    But back to this nail polish: I really like how this looks. I would never pay for the Clarins polish on ebay. I’m polish crazy but not completely insane. 🙂

    • Yeah I was like vaguely into nail polish but not insanely like I am now. I wish this polish didn’t smell so awful cuz I’m telling you- this description is the truth and considering you think Seche smells like vomit you would HATE this. I would almost like you to suffer through trying it just so I could hear your description of the smell!! Haha.

      And I’m w ya on the not being completely insane thing- I don’t really want to get into the drama side of nail polish anyway. 🙂

  2. Aw that sucks! I know I had polish that I had thrown away because of that and didn’t know about polish thinner at the time 😦 Boo lol.
    This holo looks amazing!

    • Well… Live and learn I guess buy dang I wish I’d known about polish thinner when I was younger! Haha. Thanks this is really cool and even tho the base is fuchsia it’s light enough that it’s definitely versatile. Do you have any kleancolor polishes?

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

