If Holos Were Happiness Layla is Downright JOLLY!

Good Morning Polished People!!

Today I can finally show you my lovely Layla Hologram Effect Flash Black!!! I wore this and swatched it practically forever ago, but then the sun wouldn’t cooperate. I wanted to get some sunny pics so I had to wait till the sun was shining AND I was available. Well it finally worked out, so I painted my nails really quick and ran out and finally got some pics. The funny thing is that it was kinda dumb to wait so long cuz the holo shows up just as well inside but I wasn’t sure!! I wanted to make sure to capture the true beauty that is Flash Black 🙂 Let’s have a peek:

Layla Hologram Effect Flash Black:

The two top pictures are inside with flash, the two bottoms are outside with direct sunlight. Each picture shows my nails with no basecoat, 3 coats of polish and Seche Vite dry fast topcoat.

Color:

Flash Black is a dark grey polish with a super-prominent linear holo finish. I think that the flash pictures show how it looks in real life a little better than my outdoor pictures, but just trust me that this holo will not disappoint! It’s a bright rainbow of colors on every nail! As long as you have a decent amount of light, indoors or out, you’re gonna love this polish cuz the effect is so bright and awesome. If you look at the Layla promo pictures, it makes this polish look practically black, but it’s more of a medium grey for sure. It’s dark enough that the holographic goodness really shows up though so that’s okay with me. I feel like Tupac oughtta jump right outta here and start rapping California Love when I look at these!!

Formula/Application:

The formula on this polish is spot-on. It’s opaque in 2 coats, but I’m comfortable with 3 and so long as you wrap your tips, it stays on as long as regular polish. It’s important not to use base coat with these polishes. The Layla displays sell special “Hologram effect base files” to prepare your nails with, but they’re just regular buffers so if you already have one you wont need to buy that. Just buff your nails before applying this polish, let it dry and apply your favorite topcoat. I can’t vouch for other topcoats, but Seche Vite and SH Clearly Quick don’t affect the holo finish. Make sure you wrap your tips with polish and topcoat though because if you don’t this polish will chip in mere hours! My polish friend Cynthia at Of Life and Lacquer used a different color of this polish without wrapping her tips and hers chipped ASAP, but when I used mine for the first time it lasted forever. The second time I used this I did NOT wrap my tips and it chipped in no time. So.. we figured out it must be the tip wrapping that makes all the difference. Do NOT skip that step cuz you’re gonna want to wear this polish for a few days. It costs $15.50 so you’ll wanna wear it out for that reason, but mostly you’ll wanna sport it cuz it’s sooo darn pretty!!

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

YES, PLEASE!!! This polish is awesome and I NEVER buy polish over $10 so you know this one is special :). I love nail polish, but I also don’t have a lot of money. Instead, I wait for a dupe of those beautiful Chanels that come out and just pass on Butter Londons cuz I don’t wanna spend that much money. I made an exception for this polish because really- I don’t know where else to get a holo polish of THIS quality! I decided to fork over the moolah and I’m so glad I did because it’s worth every penny. You can find a dupe of Chanel Peridot, you can find a similar shimmery polish like the newest BL but you can’t just pick up a strong linear holo anywhere. See how well I’ve justified this? 😉

How do you like the latest holo polishes? Do you have some? If so, which one is your favorite? Let me know how you like this one. As always, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!! 😀

16 thoughts on “If Holos Were Happiness Layla is Downright JOLLY!

  1. I laughed as soon as I opened this email! I just painted my nails with the same color yesterday 🙂 I also love it! I think stamping something on it in black would look good. Great minds think alike I guess! Lol

    • If you think black would look cool- wait till you see tomorrow’s post! Haha. Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂 This is probably in my top 5 polishes of all time. I just love it!! 🙂

  2. Love this amazing-looking polish! I’m so with you on hardly ever spending more than $10 on a polish, there has to be something pretty fantastic going on. I’ve seen these on the blogs and have always been tempted!

    • I just think there are enough excellent polishes around the 7-8 dollar mark that I don’t usually feel the need to spend more. However- these are just as good as they look in pictures. If you’re gonna splurge on one polish, make this the one. Or the silver one from this collection cuz I’ve heard it’s super-holo-awesome too. 🙂

  3. Freaking A this is an amazing polish. “Don’t forget to wrap your tits!” lol
    I want to get this one too. I’m waiting for them to show up in store so I can use one of their $3.50 off coupons. I am pretty sure I didn’t see any exclusions listed on the ulta website so hopefully they will show up soon. I want the green one too. Ok, who am I kidding? I want all of them. I haven’t worn mine since I first bought them because it makes me sad how fast they chipped. Ohhh,…can’t wait to see what you’ll do with it tomorrow.

    • Gotta wrap those tits! Hahaha. This is definitely amazing. I can’t believe your Ulta doesn’t have them yet.. mine’s had them for a bit. It would be great to use one of those coupons… are any of the nail polishes considered a “prestige brand” and therefor not valid to use the coupon on? I wanted to ask someone last time I was there but maybe you know! 🙂 Don’t be too excited about tomorrow.. it’s not that cool. But it is interesting. I tend to over-hype things. It’s my superpower. Anticlimactic womannnnn!!!!!!

      • So you can use coupons on the Layla polishes. I just bought one and used the coupon in the latest circular. However, I didn’t even notice that it was a 20% off coupon instead of the usual $3.50 off coupon. I ended up paying like $13.50 for the polish. If you use $3.50 coupon, you will pay around $12.90. Yay for coupons!

        • Yeah that’s right- for whatever reason this is a 20% coupon this week. Lame. Oh well it’s still awesome you can use a coupon on it. It seems like all the good stuff (urban decay, bare minerals, too faced, etc) are “prestige” and therefor excluded. Maybe I’ll take my coupon in and at least get the spiderman Chanel graphite dupe IF my ulta can manage to get them in! Theyve been out forEVER!! Wth ulta?!

  4. This holo looks awesome! I always like the dark colored holos, but I don’t think I own a dark one…lol. I love how you can see the effect on all the nails so easily!

    • I know isn’t it great?! I love how it’s so obvious. It’s kinda depressing when you have this great polish that basically only YOU think is so great. haha. I’ve tried to show my mom and/or husband some of my “duochrome” polishes and they’re just like wtf…. we see nothing. This definitely wont cause that awkward moment!! 🙂

  5. oooooh tip wrapping… I admit I’m improving and have been wrapping my tips about 50% of the time now. The other 50% I forget, but I’m make a conscious effort. And I love Layla holographic…I don’t own any YET but it’s a matter of time. I was hesitant on buying the Nfu Oh holos because of the aqua base you have to buy with it. And buying two polishes for one to work wasn’t looking appealing to me. Then I saw all of these Layla holo’s popping up and I really really want one. I’ve been wanting a silver holo mostly…one day.

    • There’s a really good one, I’m sure you saw it on Of Life and Lacquer… I think she’s the one who had it…. hmm now I’m not sure. Anyway, these polishes are nice cuz they don’t really take any special prep work except for a quick buffing. And even tho basecoat is totally necessary and a quick step, I’m not gonna lie- it was kinda nice not having to worry about it for these nails 😀 Buy some now… you won’t be sorry! 🙂

    • Me too! It is seriously one of THE best polishes I own. I don’t have any ozotic or anything (and now never will!!) so this one really shocked me with its amazingness. 😉 All these Laylas are fabulous.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

