Ahhh here’s a good neon!! Orly Glowstick Review

Good Morning Polished People!!!

Yesterday I shared with you a disappointing “neon” but today I’m making up for that with a good, retina-searing neon yellow/green. It’s called Glowstick and I found it in Orly’s new Feel The Vibe display at Sally’s. πŸ™‚ I don’t own very many Orly polishes but I’ve never had a problem with the handful that I do own and this one was no different. Let’s have a peek, shall we?

Orly Glowstick:

This is indoors with artificial lighting but no flash. It is probably the closest depiction of what this color actually looks like, although it’s a little greener here than it truly is.

Inside with sunlight through a window this color appears to be a sunflower yellow creme… which it is NOT!

Outside in the sunlight Glowstick mostly cooperates but was either totally bleached out by the sun, or all shadowy like you see here.

Color:

Glowstick is a mysterious color that hovers somewhere between radioactive-urine yellow and the lightest lime green you could ever imagine. The top picture is the best representation of how it looks in everyday life. Glowstick is a perfect name for it because that’s exactly what it looks like. It’s thisclose to glowing in the dark, and I love it! THIS, my friends, is a NEON! πŸ˜€

Formula/Application:

Being a neon, you’re gonna need some polish panties. For the above pictures I used white underneath but you could also use silver which is what I use sometimes. Als0, it dried satiny so you’ll want a good topcoat. The current topcoats I’m recommending are Seche Vite (my go-to HG of topcoat), SH Insta-Dri Clearly Quick and my new recommendation NYC Grand Central Station. I heard about the NYC topcoat because Sammy from The Nailasaurus is always raving about it and so far I think she’s right!! πŸ™‚ It doesn’t dry quite as quick as Seche when applied over wet polish, but it does dry quick and doesn’t smell bad like Seche at all!! For that reason a lot of you may love it. The smell/fumes don’t bother me very much so I’ll continue to use Seche for the most part, but I know they bother a lot of people. Anyway, you’ll need a topcoat with this polish as with all neons. πŸ™‚ Everything else about this polish was perfect.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

YES, PLEASE!! I’m so happy with this polish! I love it. I love the brightness and that’s allll I need πŸ™‚ I saw a color just like this, Essie Funky Limelight on Traci’s blog, Drinkcitra, and once I saw it I knew I had to have one similar. I was so happy when I found this at Sally’s and it was just as awesome as I’d hoped. Now I just need a good neon blue and pink. I have received a few good suggestions from you guys though so maybe my neon dreams will come true with my husband’s next paycheck πŸ˜‰

Do you all like wearing neons for summertime? What is your favorite neon polish of all time? I suppose some people don’t like the brightness but pssshhhhh you KNOW I’m all Honey Badger style about having super-loud nails!! Honey Badger don’t care… and neither do I!! As always, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

21 thoughts on “Ahhh here’s a good neon!! Orly Glowstick Review

  1. Yes!!! Very awesome neon! πŸ˜€ I think Funky Limelight is my fav so far. Waiting for some awesome NEONs to come along… πŸ˜€

  2. I like neons but not this neon. I guess I should say that I wouldn’t like it on me. It would look horrid on me. I liked it in the picture where it looks like a creamy yellow…that I could wear. I do think it looks good on you.

    Whoa…I just noticed something. Did you cut your nails? Tell me that you did not cut your nails.

    • I just don’t care if it looks good on me or not.. I think that’s my secret! haha. Thanks though πŸ™‚ And NOOOOO I didn’t cut my nails yet but I like REALLY want to! I’m telling you they just have reached the length where I’m like REALLY aware of how long they are… but they’re not getting much longer it doesn’t seem. I can feel the corners starting to be kinda soft tho… so I think the end is near!! You are “thisclose” to victory πŸ™‚

      • LMAO. Well, I noticed that one of my nails has a tiny little split like right where it joins my nail bed so I think all it will take is one careless bump to make it break. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I’m actually getting used to them being longer but I hate the noise they make when I scratch myself. This girl I used to work with would always like scratch at her jeans and her nails made this funky noise and I wanted to puke every time I would hear it.

        • Ew! I know what you’re talking about… that scritchity scratch scratch sound is awful!!! And I hate having a hard time getting lipgloss, cuticle cream, etc out of pots! It’s always under my nails. I end up using the top of my nail to scoop it out and then wipe it onto my lips, etc before I smooth it around. The end is near…. maybe. I do like having the extra space for polish and art πŸ™‚

    • I think you’re probably right because it has that same slight green hue to it in the right light. I haven’t tried Celtic Sun and actually wasn’t sure if it was a true neon. Thanks for the info! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! Yeah w neons especially it’d always good to wear your polish panties (white or another light color underneath) so you don’t end up w a super gloopy result from trying to build it up to opacity. Plus- it helps the neon stay nice and light and bright. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you found this helpful. Thanks for reading! πŸ˜€

  3. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to know so much about this, such as you wrote the e-book
    in it or something. I believe that you simply can do with
    a few percent to force the message house a bit,
    however instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  4. On the one hand, you don’t have to worry about tons of different combinations but on the other if
    you are trying to do a particular move you can end up doing
    several other ones you didn’t want to. EFT and Kuji Kiri both tap into DNA ability to be programmed as it relates to the flow of Chi (life force).
    This was Nagato’s 2nd pain and unleashing Rinnegan on all Leaf Anbu Black Ops and Hanzos subordinates are killed.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

