Who Doesn’t Like A Little Lust In Lace?

Hey There Polished People!

I’m just going to warn you straight off the bat that the blue type is one big personal rant. If you’d like, please skip down to the black text where the topic returns to nails. πŸ˜‰ I wanted to rant a bit but if you wanna skip through it, I tried to make that simple. πŸ™‚

Work is making me so frustrated lately! Grr! Just as a quick wrap-up- I went to school to be a teacher. I’ve always wanted to be a teacher, I got my undergrad, went on to grad school and got my Master’s. I’ve worked with kids in schools for about 8 years, plus babysitting and internships before that. I love working with kids, am really good at relating to kids and teaching them and…. I have no job. I do substitute and teach a couple of art classes, and was tutoring until that was over for the year but it’s just very, very frustrating to feel like you’ve worked all your life so far for something that just isn’t happening or likely to happen anytime soon. In my area there are NO teaching jobs, period. Not only are there no jobs but schools have cut staff so severely there is almost no need for substitutes like myself because there are so many out-of-work teachers that the market for subs is just totally saturated. To top off the frustration about not being able to find a teaching job, I feel like I’ve just been piecing work together forever (the last 3 years since I graduated) and I’m tired of it. (I worked at a bank for several months, subbed regularly for a couple of months, work at a summer park program from the end of June-August, I teach a few art classes at the community center, I got into tutoring this year and continue to try to sub.) A couple of art classes a week and occasional subbing does NOT provide an income of any sort and it’s not like I don’t still have to pay my student loans! Grr. It’s so frustrating and depressing.Β  I have GOT to find a “normal” job. Sometimes my husband seems a little frustrated that lots of days I’m just at home, not working and when I do it’s just a few hours a day, but I don’t think anyone understands how stupid I feel being over educated and basically unemployed. I would LOVE a job that I go to every day and I know what to expect from every day and I might even have a couple of work friends to talk to. How it is now, I just run in and out of wherever I’m working, don’t really know anyone, don’t have any friends and never know when I’ll be back again. It really sucks. I try to pretend subbing is fun, but it’s not really that fun. Optimism is the only thing I have going for me when it comes to my work situation. I really don’t want to go back to working retail but… I’m starting to consider it. :-/

Anyway, enough of my rant. Let’s see today’s nail polish! πŸ˜€ I bought this a while back but never swatched them! This collection is Ulta’s Lust In Lace mini pack. πŸ™‚ Rawwwrrrr! πŸ˜‰

From Left to Right: Top Coat, Of Corset It Is, Let It Slip, Underneath It All, and Let Your Garter Down

All of these polishes are different color glass flecks in a black base. I saw on Ulta.com that a lot of people didn’t like these polishes because they thought there were too dark, but I love them! They are dark… duh! That’s the point! But I really like the glass fleck within each polish. I think they’re kinda sexy and just super, super pretty. I’ll show you each and you can be the judge πŸ˜‰ Make sure you click to enlarge each picture to see the lovely glass flecks. πŸ™‚

Of Corset It Is:

With Flash

Without Flash

Of Corset It Is is a dark red glass fleck in a black base. It is similar to ChG Lubu Heels except that it has a bit of a duochrome effect when seen in different lights. You’ll see in the flash picture that it’s mostly red, but without flash it has a gold look to it. When you see it in the bottle there is definitely some gold at the corners of the bottle and that’s what makes this polish extra special. πŸ™‚ I like this a lot!

Let It Slip:

Let It Slip is the kind of polish I was hoping that ChG Smoke and Ashes would be! This is a black base with green glass fleck. It has that pretty glowing-from-within-type quality that I love πŸ™‚ It’s true that in low light it just looks black, but in brighter light it’s sooo pretty!

Underneath It All:

Underneath It All is a black (or super dark brown??) base with gold/bronze-y glass fleck. The overall impression is of antique bronze. This is a beautiful polish and I just love how all the little glass flecks just glow. πŸ™‚ I wish I could get all of these polishes in a large bottle.

Let Your Garter Down:

Please excuse my filthy, filthy cuticles. I swear I didn’t notice they were THIS bad before I took the picture. I did some nail art over these nails though so once I covered the blue, there was no going back. Whoops!! Anyway, Let Your Garter Down is a black base (surprise!) with blue glass fleck. It’s just as pretty as the rest of these polishes and I just love it.

Formula/Application (for all polishes):

These all apply easily and without a problem. They are thin on the first coat but the second builds perfectly and looks fantastic. These pictures do have a coat of Seche Vite or SH Clearly Quick, and this polish needs a nice shiny top coat to bring out the glass fleck. People who gave these polishes bad reviews either a) were expecting something unreasonable (hello! They’re obviously mostly black!) and/or b) didn’t apply them properly. People said they were too thin- they need to apply 2 medium coats, more if you apply thinner coats. People said they weren’t very shiny- use top coat. These problems are easily fixed and the extra step is worth doing because these polishes, although not super seasonal at the moment, are beautiful. πŸ™‚

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

For all polishes- Yes, Please! I love these! They’re perfect for a blackened nail art base that still has a little personality and they’re stunning on their own. If you like dark polishes and like glass fleck, these polishes are for you! πŸ™‚

Which of these are your favorite? Have any of you gone to school for a degree you are unable to use? How are you coping? Have you tried these polishes? Let me know what you think! Till next time, Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

12 thoughts on “Who Doesn’t Like A Little Lust In Lace?

  1. Wow, that is so terrible! (ur work situation, not the nail polishes! They’re pretty πŸ™‚ ) I had no idea that getting a teaching job could be so hard. Have you thought about relocating? Or working outside of your area and traveling? It’s getting harder and harder these days for people w degrees to do what they originally went to school for. It sucks bc we study so hard and bust our asses and invest so much time and money in our degrees. I have a BA in psychology and in order to be a psychologist I need at least a MA w certification or a PsyD or Phd (for psychiatry). When I graduated I didn’t expect to find a job as a psychologist but I wanted to find something in the field, even if it was entry level. It took me years to finally find a position in the field, and it’s still not what I really want to do. I worked in the mortgage business after I graduated for years and I HATED it. It’s so hard to find a job in these hard economic times, much less a job that is in the field of your choice. I know your frustration bc I’ve been there before and it sucks! The only advice I can give you is to hang in there, come up w a plan that you and your husband are comfortable with, and take the first step. I hope you find a way mama, I’m rooting for you!

    • That’s funny you’re into psych cuz I have a minor and actually was considering getting my PsyD so I could go into that. Then I realized a) more loans and b) I’d be in the same boat so I decided it wasn’t very feasible. I love psychology though. I’d want to be a therapist/psychologist though, probably not do enough schooling to be a psychiatrist. I definitely have looked everywhere drivable to find a job but I don’t want to relocate. I wouldn’t mind moving a LITTLE but not like far out-of-state. :-/ Thanks for the advice and nice words. πŸ™‚ It’s something a lot of us are going through so I guess at least I’m not alone!! Haha. Sad but true!

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ It’s crappy but it’s unfortunately not unique.

      About the polishes- they’re definitely subtle differences but I’m into subtlety. And loud colors/patterns/people haha. πŸ˜‰ I just like them so much cuz they just have that pretty glowing property and when you catch the glass fleck it’s kinda unexpected. πŸ™‚

  2. The work situation is just bleak all around.I’m sorry you’re having to go through all of that and I know how freaking frustrating it is. I need to get my butt in gear on the work front, but I have no idea what I want to do with myself. I guess nail polish isn’t exactly going to pay the rent and put food on the table. Can you imagine how awesome it would be? lol

    I’ve never tried any Ulta nail polishes. I love sets and this one looks pretty cool. Maybe I’ll check it out. I just have so many brand new nail polishes that I haven’t even swatched…I feel guilty getting more.

    • Ugh if np blogging was a career I’d be in heaven!! Haha. Since we are being optimistic here, blogging could help with landing some sort of social media marketing job if one were available. There’s one here I’m gonna apply for but it’s for an automotive company so nail polish… cars… idk how that’s gonna look. Haha.

      You’ve NEVER tried Ulta’s polishes?? You are missing out! I have several and they’re all great. Totally on par with China Glaze/OPI and they’re pretty inexpensive (plus, I usually load up with my rewards points). They have trendy colors like a season too late, but there are still tons of awesome polishes that are worth picking up. You should give em a try! πŸ˜‰

          • I went to like 5 nail stores today and didn’t buy any nail polish. I only got 2 pairs of eyelashes and some PoshΓ©. Can you believe it?

            Pfffft! You have tons of plates that I want!

            • Oh good then we’re even! Haha. I was just commenting on your Cult post! It’s funny you were like yawn yawn yawn… cuz that’s how I’ve been feeling about new collections lately.. I’m like “COME ON! Knock my socks off!” No more pastel cremes or dusty lavenders. I want holos and things I don’t see everyday from every brand! Is that too much to ask?!

              • I think that because we have so much polish, we aren’t excited by anything anymore. I mean, I wish I could go back to the first time I bought a bright purple polish and how excited I was because it was a brand new color to me. I want to see the new China Glazes already. Essie is kinda boring me now. Did you see the colors that Orly came out with for that new Johnny Depp movie? Those might be interesting.

                • Yeah I saw those on Allure I think. I have a blog post just about done about them too but I’m not sure if they’ll be awesome or not. They LOOK somewhat intriguing but we’ll see when they come out. Every time I see an exciting polish I think of the Model’s Own Beetlejuice collection… it was so disappointing. I’m crossing my fingers for this collection tho! That’s too bad about Spiderman… I really wanted at least the green to be spectacular. I’ll have to check out the swatches. We are officially addicts- we have built up a tolerance, and now we are wishing for the feeling of that first high. TROUBLE!!! Hahaha. Hey, guess it could be worse things, right?! πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

