Good Idea Gone Bad- My 1st (last) Franken Attempt

Good Afternoon Polished People!

Don’t you hate when you have this GREAT idea and then when you actually implement it, it just fizzles? Well that’s the kind of idea I had about the glitter pots I got through Amazing Shine Nails. One of the glitters was just so fantastic that I thought, “Hmmm… I bet that would make THE BEST glitter top coat.” I thought I could just pour some of the glitter into some clear polish and voila! Semi-frankened glitter polish. Well, as if turns out, some glitter just doesn’t play well in nail polish and this was one of them. 😦

Disco Nite Semi-Frankened Nails:

These nails consist of base coat, 2 coats of OPI Planks a Lot, and then 2 coats of my home-mixed Disco Nite glitter polish with Seche Vite on top. Disco Nite is a mixture of purple, lavender and holographic glitter in all sizes from tiny round glitter to huge hex glitter. There is even some holo bar glitter in it. It’s the best glitter EVER!! However, as you may or may not be able to tell in these photos all the interesting glitter either stayed in the bottle, or got buried beneath the less-exciting glitter on my nail. 😦 Also, when I mixed the glitter in the polish I threw in a couple of bbs and shook it up really well and the glitter was uniformly suspended and looked great. The next day (when I was ready to paint these nails) I grabbed this bottle and SURPRISE! all my beautiful glitter was packed in the bottom like a sparkly purple rock, and the clear polish was tinged purple and completely glitter-less in the top 2/3 of the bottle. Some of the color from the glitter leached out into the clear polish and all of the glitter sank to the bottom. Thank goodness I had dropped some bbs in there, otherwise I don’t think I would have ever got it re-mixed!! Oh well… I guess all my ideas can’t be great πŸ˜‰

Have you made any of your own frankens? If so, what type of glitter do you use? Have you ever had this problem? I’m curious to know how many of you make your own polish concoctions πŸ™‚ Thank you all for reading and till next time, Happy Polishing! πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Good Idea Gone Bad- My 1st (last) Franken Attempt

  1. That actually looks really pretty! I love frankens πŸ™‚ I made a few of mine but nothing exceptionally great. You need a decent base that will suspend the glitter and prevent it from falling to the bottom, and TKB apparently isnt selling it much anymore (not sure if that issue was resolved). Anyhoo, dont make it your last! Keep trying! πŸ™‚ Do you follow any of the indie polish brands on Etsy? Im OBSESSED lol

    • Yeah I should probably try a better base next time. πŸ™‚ And about the indie polishes- I do follow some of them loosely but I saw on Twitter that you, my friend, have been on an indie buying spree!!! Which is your favorite so far?? There are so many out there I just don’t even know which to try. And they’re always selling out! But I guess that’s half the fun. πŸ˜‰

      • Pft, girl u don’t even know the half of it lol My favorite by far is Pretty and Polished. I have about 15 of her nail polishes. I buy a lot of minis bc I honestly never really use a nail polish more than once or twice unless it’s a base/top coat, or black. Her shop is being restocked on Wed so u should check it out! I’ve been stalking several Etsy shops and I’ve grown a few gray hairs in the whole frenzy of a shop opening and then selling out of something I wanted. Its safe to say that with all of my stalking I have most of the indie polishes I want. The one shop that keeps eluding me is ‘I’m feeling nailventurous’. I’ve been to 2 of her openings and both times her shop sold out within 5 mins, no joke! I finally managed to snag Floam from Ninja polish after being on email alert lol :sigh: Nail polish addiction much???

        • Hahaha oh my goodness!!! That’s what I think keeps me from trying to snag all those polishes- how they open and close and stuff. Oh- and money. Haha. You’re more patient than me! I will check out Pretty and Polished on Wednesday though cuz I would like to get my hands on some new indie polishes. I especially love Floam!! That polish is awesome!!! Lucky you! I’m definitely pushing for you to do an all-indie-brand np blog. You have enough polishes to get a good start!!! And I’m better you get more within the week! πŸ˜‰

          • You read my mind on the all indie polish blog! I’ve been toying w the idea. Just trying to figure out if I have the patience and time for it. We shall see! Lol Thanks for the support! πŸ™‚

            • You don’t have to blog everyday. You could even just do one or two a week! I’ll quit pressuring you but I’m just saying- you have your first follower right here!! πŸ™‚

  2. That happened to me too the first time I tried to mix my first glitter polish. Then I realized I need a suspension base. I had bought a small bottle of it from TKB before they put a hold on base. I’m too afraid to use it up though haha 😦

    • Ahhh yes of course. Oh well, I mean I can shake it up and use it at least but it just didn’t turn out how I expected. Oh well. I may try something again but until then I’ll leave the chemistry to someone else. πŸ˜‰

  3. I’ve never frankened any polish and I doubt I ever will. My adventurous side with nail polish does have a limit. hahaha I actually like this cause it has purple, and well, you know how I feel about purple.

    • Well thanks. πŸ™‚ I know purple lovers such as yourself probably don’t find much wrong with this but if you saw the glitter that went into it (purple glitter extravaganza!!!) you’d know why I was disappointed. It should have been SO MUCH PRETTIER!! Oh well, turns out my adventurousness may have a limit as well πŸ˜‰

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

