Make Your Own Nail Polish Decals!!!

Good Mooooooorning!

Yesterday I teased you saying I had some potentially mind-blowing nail art to show you. Now remember, I said it was more of the method that was so spectacular, not the art itself, so keep that in mind. I’ll show you the nails first and then I’ll show you the method. πŸ™‚

Home Made Nail Polish Decals:

I was going for an abstract dot type design here. I don’t know what you call them but the dots that look like they’re made up of a bunch of straight lines… idk… anyway. So you might be able to draw these on your own, or you may not. I don’t have that steady of a hand so even simple designs like this are sometimes hard for me. So instead of drawing these on my nails, I made decals and stuck them to my nails.

To make your own nail polish decals, all you need is nail polish and a plastic freezer bag. Yep, that’s it!! All you do is:

1. Draw the design you want on the outside of a freezer baggie-

2. Allow the polish to dry thoroughly. Let this sit like an hour. If you try to peel them off too soon it’s EXTRA hard.

3. When the decals are dry, very carefully peel them off (this can be hard, make a few extra because there are bound to be fatalities). I do this by bending the plastic and using my fingernail to peel up one tiny edge, then using the pad of my thumb to kinda peel it the rest of the way up. If you make your decals a little thick, it will be easier to peel them off. I made mine pretty thin and it was difficult but doable.

4. Stick the decal to your nails where ever you’d like it and seal with a coat of top coat. πŸ™‚

The possibilities are endless. I just started playing with this method so expect cooler applications of this technique in the future. I made these dot designs, I made some pink and orange hearts…

heartDecalOnThumb… and I made some abstract yellow, blue and green squares. I made them small, but as you may be able to tell, I used 4 per nail to cover the entire nail. I left the pinky 1/4Β  uncovered to show that it’s 4 decals. I don’t particularly like how the design turned out, but I can see using different polishes to make an awesome full nail design.

Have you tried this method?? If so- What awesome designs have you came up with? If not- Are you excited to try this?! I’m so excited to try this out with a billion different designs. Yayyyy! Till next time, Happy Polishing!!

15 thoughts on “Make Your Own Nail Polish Decals!!!

  1. I think I have seen people do this for the marbling effect. How hard is it to do? I think I would totally mess this up. I really like how your nails ended up looking!

    • It’s really easy!! You just have to make some extras because you’re bound to rip one or two. I didn’t know people did this for marbling. It’s so easy to water marble… Idk why you’d do skins like this. It’s pretty cool tho. I even made a full nail skin and just left the half moon bare. So easy!

  2. I just did my nails and feel like crap after seeing yours. You r so talented. You probably make alot of $$. Ever thought of doing a madmen retro theme that would b cool.

    • Haha well thank you but I’m sure yours look great, too. πŸ™‚ And I don’t make any money (I wish!!) I just do this for fun. I like your suggestion, I’ll look into that! Check back in the future to see what I come up with. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading and commenting!!

    • I think it’s worth a shot if you paint it over a clear coat. I’m not sure about acrylic by itself, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work over the clear and then with clear over the top. Give it a try! πŸ™‚

  3. Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up! Other then that, awesome blog!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

