Bargain Polish- Ultra Pro “Big Spender” Review

Good Evening Polished People!

Tonight I have a quick review forΒ  you of some polish I’m using for the base of some VERY exciting nail art I will unveil tomorrow. It’s not that the nail art is so exciting exactly, but the method (if you haven’t seen it already) will blow your mind. Just wait. ;D Now for today I have a polish I picked up at Sally’s for about 2 bucks. I don’t think it was on sale, I think the regular price is just 2 bucks. Maybe 3. Regardless, that’s some pretty cheap polish and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I wasn’t expecting much, really. Let’s have a look and I’ll tell you how it is.

Big Spender:

Color:

Big Spender is a champagne/gold shimmer. It looks to be made up of the tiniest gold shimmer particles and a few silver shimmery particles mixed it. It’s definitely not a brassy gold, which I really like. It’s sort of like a more metallic Fast Track from the HG collection. By the way- is anyone out there gonna see it tonight at midnight?!!!? I wont be, but I’ll be seeing it shortly. πŸ™‚

Formula/ Application:

The formula is good. Not great but good. Worth the couple of dollars I spent on it for sure. It is opaque in 2-3 coats, which is just perfect for me, and doesn’t leave a million brush strokes which is sometimes a problem with cheaper polishes with a metallic finish. The only problem I had with this polish is that even though the surface dries quickly with a coat of Seche Vite, the polish itself stayed soft forEVER! Gosh, it must have been an hour after I had polished my nails and I pressed on my thumbnail and made a huge dent. It was ridiculous. They did eventually harden though and ever since then they’re indestructible. I’ve done some dishes, washed my hands millions of times, etc and I don’t even have edge wear after 3 days. If you can wait out the softness (which is annoying) this polish is great, if that’s too annoying for you (totally understanding) then pass on this polish. It dries pretty dull, but a coat or two of top coat solves that problem. I never wear polish without top coat anyway, so that’s not a concern of mine.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

For the price and since I like the color I give this a small Yes, Please. This is one of those colors that can probably be found in a better formula so if you find a similar one, get it. That being said, for my purposes and since I don’t have anything this color and finish… I like it. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Bargain Polish- Ultra Pro “Big Spender” Review

    • Yayyy!! It’s pretty cool. It’s something I’d tried to do before but just finally figured out how to do it. I haven’t done it to it’s full potential yet but it’s potentially mind-blowingly awesome. Dang… Now I’m over-hyping it. Haha. You’ll see what I mean tomorrow. πŸ™‚

  1. Ok, so I will totally copy this super cool mind-blowing nail art technique that you are going to unveil. lol I am not a big fan of gold nail polish…i think it just looks weird on me. I see that brand at Sally’s all the time but haven’t tried it yet. When are you going to see The Hunger Games? I was planning on going to the midnight show (by myself!) but my best friend wants to go see it on Saturday so I guess I can wait…grrrrrrrrrr!

    • Ohhh what a nice friend!! I will probably go sometime next week with my mom. Sometimes we plan on going to see a movie, we are both super excited and can’t wait to go… and then we forget and don’t see it till it practically comes out on video. Haha. Hopefully this movie won’t be one of those, cuz I know it’s gonna be SO GOOD!

      About my nail art- I think I’ve successfully over-hyped this enough that whatever I do won’t live up to it. Perfect. :p I’ll have to wait and see what you all say tomorrow. πŸ™‚

      • A girl I know had some tickets to see the movie with Jennifer Lawrence’s family and she said that it was good and that it pretty much followed the book. I hope it is good too because I think it’s like 2.5 hours long! My brother was at the theater around 8 and he said the place was packed with people lining up for the midnight showing. I guess I’m glad I didn’t go. lol

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

