Navy Mixed-Print Nails

Good Morning Polished People!!!

I hope you all enjoyed my posts about the Hunger Games polishes over the last few days. I was quite impressed with the collection as a whole, but I’m ready to do some nail art! When I’m reading magazines (Cosmo, Marie Claire, People, O, among others) I am often looking for nail inspiration. Sometimes I see a color combination that I like, sometimes I’ll see a new “trend” that I wanna try (I put trend in quotations cuz usually by the time magazines are reporting a trend, it’s kinda done with for those of us [you included!] on the front line) or I’ll just see an interesting use of prints, for example, that I want to translate to my nails. Some are winners, some are losers, but they’re ALL fun to try. Today I was inspired by an outfit I saw in Marie Claire (I think!). Here is the page that inspired me:

I can’t find any photographer credits on this page that I tore out, but just know that it is definitely not mine. If anyone knows who it actually belongs to, please let me know and I’ll link it back to them. Anyway… this outfit made me think “Hmm… multiple prints, all in the same colors… this could be interesting.” As you can see in the upper right hand corner I wrote some of my notes/ideas, and then later I got out my polishes and made it happen. 🙂

Navy Mixed-Print Nails:

I decided to go with a floral pattern near the cuticle, a small piece of fish net pattern in the middle and a geometric tribal pattern at the tip. Now, as I’m sure you noticed, my stamping definitely needs some improvement here. My lines are a little crooked and overall imperfect. I’m sure you could do a much better job. 🙂

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Apply your favorite base coat.
  2. Apply your favorite navy blue polish. I used Ulta Moody Blues, and applied two coats.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow to dry thoroughly.
  4. When your top coat is dry, pick out three patterns you want to use on your nails. I would recommend picking three different types of patterns like floral, open and geometric, but you can decide what you think would look best.
  5. Place a sticky note over your nail where you want the first stamp (nearest your cuticle) to end. I would place it about 1/3 of your nail up from your cuticle (covering the 2/3 of your nail closest to the tip). You don’t need a tight seal to your nail since you’re just stamping over it, that’s why I didn’t use tape, although you certainly could.
  6. Use your stamping plate to stamp the first stamp on your first finger, I used SE and BM plates and Konad special white polish.
  7. Remove the sticky note. You will be left with just a small piece of the stamp on your nail.
  8. Repeat on all fingers, allow to dry for ~5 minutes. You are going to place a sticky note over your stamp so you need it to be dry enough not to peel up. Thankfully stamping polishes dry super fast!
  9. For the middle stamp you’ll need 2 sticky notes per finger. One to cover up the first stamp (floral in my pictures) and one to cover the (currently bare) tip where I did my tribal design. Once you have the sticky notes placed, use your stamper to stamp the second design onto the exposed strip in the middle of your nail.
  10. Remove sticky notes and place one over the 2/3 of your nail closest to the cuticle, the part that is already stamped.
  11. Use your stamper to stamp your third stamp at the tip of your nail.
  12. Apply one coat of Seche Vite, and show your friends! 🙂

I thought these looked different, but pretty cool. I wouldn’t wear an outfit with mixed prints (at least not to the extent the model in the picture does), but everything goes on my nails so I would definitely do this again. In the future I’d like to try doing the same print with different stamping colors over the same base color. I think that would be cool, also.

What’d you think of this mani? Would you wear mixed prints for clothing? Would you wear mixed prints on your nails? Which is wilder for you- your nails or your clothes? I’d like to hear everyone’s opinion on that. Till next time, Happy Polishing!!!

10 thoughts on “Navy Mixed-Print Nails

  1. I love these, the print looks great and I cant even tell that your lines are “uneven”. I dont know if I have the patience for this, seeing as I have little patience for stamping. Its sad bc I LOVE the way stamping looks, but its so tedious. I have so many stamping plates too, I need to get back on that!

    • It’s sad cuz you have such AWESOME stamps!!! I can’t get the bird one out of my head. Idk if you have the IFC channel or if you’ve ever seen/heard of the show Portlandia, but they do this sketch on there about how everything is trendy right now in Portland if you just put a bird on it, so whenever I think of that plate I’m like “Put a bird on it!!!” If you’ve never seen the show you’re probably like wtf… Haha. Anyway, thanks for the compliment and I’m SO glad you don’t think it looks super sloppy! 😀

    • Thanks so much! Yeah the sticky note was great cuz it was a little faster since it wasn’t so tacky and it’s not like the stamp is going to run/bleed underneath! I used the same two sticky notes for the whole thing. I’m happily surprised at everyone’s response to these nails. I wasn’t sure about them. 🙂

    • Thank you! I think you’re right it does look a little patchwork-y which is perfect for the mixed print. Good, now if anyone says anything I’ll be like “It’s patchwork, duhhhh!” 😉

    • Thanks! I liked them too but not as much as I do now that everyone made me feel better about the imperfections!! 😀 I love it! Haha. Yeah I can see what you’re saying about the nautical thing… Anything navy blue and white gives me that feeling. Thanks for swinging by and commenting! 🙂

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

