OPI Holland “Gouda Gouda Two Shoes” (aka: what WOULD HAVE BEEN a mature, grown up manicure)

Good Morning!

I bought my mom Gouda Gouda Two Shoes from OPI’s Holland Collection for Valentine’s Day, and then when I was over there Saturday night I asked her if I could try it out. We were watching SNL as I was painting my nails and one bit came on that made me stop right in my tracks. I couldn’t even paint my nails for like 10 minutes. You can watch that bit here. If you don’t have a sense of humor, or not a good one at least, don’t click on the link. It’s an Ask Dr. Oz spoof, and it’ll make you laugh till you cry. I was laughing so hard that I couldn’t paint my nails straight, and then I was crying so hard from laughing that I couldn’t even see. When the sketch was over and I finally calmed down I resumed painting my nails… until my mom turned to me and said “YOU have a dead rectum!” Hahahahhaaaaa!! Then I was in hysterics again! After one more aftershock of uncontrollable laughter I finally was able to paint my nails. Here is…

Gouda Gouda Two Shoes:

Color:

Gouda Gouda Two Shoes  is a dusty mauve creme with generous pinky-gold shimmer. The shimmer is subtle and hard to see in my pictures but it really takes this polish from “ho-hum” to “not your mama’s mauve.” That being said, this is the kind of polish your nails wear when they grow up and start being responsible adults.

Formula/Application:

Non-problematic formula. I was worried this would be pretty thin, but it was perfect. It was opaque in 2 coats, but I did 3 for good measure. It applies smoothly and dries shiny but not as shiny as with a coat of Seche Vite (seshweet, haha) which is what you see in the pictures.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

I usually do NOT go for mauves. They’re too demure for me. My nails aren’t quite ready yet to settle down, get an office job, drive a mini-van, go to bed at 9pm and wear elastic dress slacks. However… I do like this color. I think the shimmer in Gouda Gouda Two Shoes makes all the difference for me. This is one of those “lingerie” shades we saw on the runway for Spring 2012 earlier this year or late last year. Even though it’s not something I would usually go for, I like it and I declare this a quiet “Yes, Please.” For my mom, who has worn this color ever since I learned ladies paint their nails I would say this is a resounding “HECK YES! (please)” Let me clarify though… she’d wear brights and darks (cuz she’s pretty fashionable and on-trend) except that she’s a one-coat nail polisher and doesn’t wrap her tips so the tip-wear is too obvious on more daring colors. Oh well, this is a pretty color for everyone 🙂

8 thoughts on “OPI Holland “Gouda Gouda Two Shoes” (aka: what WOULD HAVE BEEN a mature, grown up manicure)

  1. I never thought of this color as more mature/grown up but I can totally see it now. This is definitely an office appropriate color but it still looks fun and fresh to me because of the shimmer.

    • I guess it just looks mature and grown up to me cuz it’s my mom’s color, haha. I actually wore this color for three days and really liked it! I totally agree with you that the shimmer makes all the difference 🙂

  2. I love this color! And I have an office job….but I dont wear elastic waist slacks! The thought alone of elastic waist slacks frightens me >_< lol This is one the colors I was lusting after from the holland collection and it looks great!

    • Hahaha. Oh good- I’m glad you don’t wear the dreaded old lady pants. Unless you look REALLY good for your age- like, “married a plastic surgeon who is also a MAGICIAN” good- you are way too young for those! Haha. I think this is a nice color too. I just love the shimmer and it’s a really low maintenance color cuz even when you do have some tip wear the dusty mauve color doesn’t really advertise it. That was great for me cuz I wore it through my art classes and stuff. 😀 Those classes can be nail killers!

    • It depends. Sometimes literally just an evening and sometimes if I’m lazy and/or REALLY love my nails I’ll wear em for like 3 days. 🙂 How about you?

      • Anywhere from 1-3 days, but usually 2 days. The MOST is 3 days but not more than that, and thats only if I REALLY love the color/design or I have absolutely no time….but Ive come to realize that no matter where I’m at or what time of the day it is, there is always time for nail polish 🙂

        • Smart woman! Haha. Yeah I never wear it for more than a day (according to Daniel, my husband) but really no longer than 3 unless something REALLY prevents me. It’s ALWAYS nail polish time! 😉

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

