Borghese Euro Green Review- Chanel Peridot Dupe?? (Plus Oscars Fashion and NBA All-Star Weekend)

Good Morning Polished People!

Ugh, it seems like as soon as the weekend finally gets here… it’s gone in a flash. Boo about that. Did anyone watch the Oscars? I only watched the red carpet. I thought Tina Fey’s horrible “peplum” dress was horrendous though I love her, correspondent Nina Garcia looked like she traveled through a windstorm and didn’t have time to brush her extensions out and unfortunately Mellisa McCarthy’s yards and yards of pleated and draped fabric did nothing for her, and she’s really an attractive woman. Another fashion loser was Angelina Jolie. Oof… that lady looks seriously ill. Even her beautiful face is looking very harsh and skeletal these days. Props for being skinny, but dang Angie, make yourself look healthy! Red carpet fashion winners in my opinion were Glenn Close (I never really thought of her as an attractive woman but man, she looked so pretty! What an attractive, age appropriate outfit. Unlike Jane Seymour who always wants to dress like she’s 25. Dress YOUR age, not your boobs’ age, please. I think I saw her hip joint.), Gwyneth Paltrow (minus the cape and helmet-hard ponytail hair), Octavia Spencer (beautiful!), Natalie Portman (how cute was she?) and Michelle Williams who wore a peplum right. I think the most beautiful of them all though was GMA’s Robin Roberts. She looked stunning… SHE should have been being interviewed. I don’t even care who won (I just caught up on Twitter) but I love watching the red carpet.

What I DO love watching is NBA All-Star Weekend. I love the skills comp, the 3 point shootout, the dunk competition and the all-star game. Portland’s very own LaMarcus Aldridge played on the winning West team, although not as much as they should have utilized him. I don’t always watch the Blazer games but I’m a fan, and I LOVE it when our guys get recognized nationally. We have so much talent that is sometimes overlooked. Yay LaMarcus!!!

Now onto today’s nails. πŸ™‚ When I was at Rite Aid last week they had many of their polishes on clearance for 75% off, and luckily for me, a Borghese polish I’d had my eye on was one of them. I had never tried the brand before but since it was only 2 bucks, I thought “Hey, now’s the time!” The color I’d been wanting was Euro Green, a polish that I thought looked very similar to Chanel’s Peridot. Have a look and let me know what you think.

Borghese Euro Green:

Color:

Euro Green is an olive green full of tiny gold shimmer. It seems to have a little personality in that it can look more olive green or decidedly antique gold depending on the light, but I would not call it a duochrome.

Formula/Application:

Perfect formula. Not too thick, not too thin, opaque in 2 easy breezy coats. The brush in this polish is a little soft and fluffy, but easy to adapt to and after one nail you’ll have it down. This dried quickly, but not as shiny as I like so I would definitely recommend a coat of Seche Vite, or as my mom calls it “seshweet” haha. She said it like that one time and now whenever I ask to use hers or say something about it we call it “seshweet” to one another. We sound slightly French and completely drunk. Oh the fun me and my mom have! πŸ™‚

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

I love this color. I think it looks a LOT like the famed and much-sought-after Chanel Peridot, which I do not own so I can’t say for sure if it’s a dupe. I see on other bloggers’ reviews that Peridot may have a hint of duochrome, but this definitely does not. However, considering that this cost me one tenth of the price of Chanel Peridot and has the same look to my untrained eye, I say this is close enough! Regardless of whether or not it’s a dupe or even similar to Peridot, I like it, the formula is great and it’s a “Yes, Please!” for me.

Please weigh in on your Oscar fashion hits and misses, the All-Star festivities and how you like this polish in the comments below. I can’t wait to hear from you! Till next time, Happy Polishing!!

4 thoughts on “Borghese Euro Green Review- Chanel Peridot Dupe?? (Plus Oscars Fashion and NBA All-Star Weekend)

  1. I totally feel you on the Oscars. I’m usually really pumped to watch the whole show, but it was so bland this year. This is also the first year where I haven’t watched all the movies up for best picture. I am a big movie buff but I guess I was otherwise engaged this past movie season! Personally, the biggest fashion hit was definitely Jennifer Lopez even though I could have sworn she had a bit of nip slip…but that’s definitely her style. lol

    I don’t have any Chanel but I’ve seen plenty of Peridot swatches. Euro Green is really pretty but like you said, it is missing the duochrome to be a close dupe. I saw the clearance polishes too, but they only had ugly colors so I passed. That color looks great on your skin tone.

    • J Lo is really a beautiful woman, although I missed the nip slip. Haha. Everyone is talking about it and her stylist issued a statement saying she didn’t. My feeling is that if you have to issue a statement about NOT having a nip slip, ya probably DID! And you’re right- it is kinda her style. She’s just Jenny from the block y’know. ;p

      I’m not surprised you couldn’t find anything worth buying from Borghese. At least of the colors my rite aid stocks this was pretty much the only attractive one.

      Thanks for all your comments!

    • Yeah, it does have that little something that makes it awesome, huh? I wasn’t sure how it was gonna work out when it was just in the bottle but when I got it on my nails I was like, “Alright! This is cool!!” πŸ™‚ Thanks for checking out my blog again and commenting!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

