A Roll In The Hague- OPI Holland Collection

Hey There, Everyone!

I think I’ve mentioned this before but orange is my absolute favorite color. I don’t really have a ton of orange polishes (too close to red perhaps) but when I find an orange I like, I LOVE it! πŸ˜‰ I don’t know if I’ve found a new love, but today I have a polish for you that, if you like orange like me, you will probably like this polish, too! Here is:

A Roll In The Hague:

Color:

A Roll In the Hague is a deeply saturated orange creme polish. It leans more towards red than yellow as you can see in the pictures. It’s an orange-red instead of coral because it has no pink in it. If it had even the tiniest hint of pink we’d have another coral on our hands. I like to think of it as Biohazard Orange!

Formula & Application:

The application was okay. It was a little thin which I found annoying, but it wasn’t that big of a problem. It was opaque in one coat but had the tendency to look uneven. I used 3 or 4 coats in the pictures above, purely because I kept seeing what I can only describe as shadows within the polish. It was where the polish was uneven, but it just looked so weird I had to keep covering it up with more polish. I don’t know if a coat of Seche Vite would have smoothed it out without all the coats, but I didn’t really want to take the chance that it wouldn’t. Another complaint I have about this formula is that the orange stained my skin soooo bad! You can see in the photos how I still have some orange-ish smears all around my fingernails. Gross! No matter how much I wiped my fingers with nail polish remover I still had orange smears.Β  😦 I love this color but mannn… can you imagine if you didn’t wear base coat?! You’d be Oompa Loompa-ing it for weeks!

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

I was pretty disappointed with the formula of this polish but since I really loved the color I’m going to give this a somewhat small “Yes, Please.” I think there are some dupes or near-dupes for this color (Essie Orange It’s Obvious comes to mind) so I might prefer those, but I haven’t tried them so I’m not sure. Judged by itself, I really like this color, but the formula is very messy. I have this problem with some navy blues as well (Cult Nails Time Traveler is one of them, but at least it’s thick and you only need 1, maybe 2, coats so it only has one small strike against it) but I was surprised this polish was so messy. I don’tΒ  remember having this problem with my OPI reds. Oh well, it’s a verrry pretty color! πŸ™‚

Till next time, Happy Polishing!

6 thoughts on “A Roll In The Hague- OPI Holland Collection

  1. I just used this color today for a pedicure! I love it and didn’t have any application issues. I did two coats out of habit but one would have been enough. Coincidentally, all the issues that you had with this polish, I had with Essie’s Orange, It’s Obvious! I wholeheartedly agree with the staining issue, though.

    • We must have been in the same mood! This would be a really good color for a pedicure… I may copy your style. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you didn’t seem to have the weird uneven-ness problem w this polish cuz it’d be extra annoying on your feet. Thanks for the info on the Essie polish… I probably (maybe) won’t try it now since I know it’s the same. I was wondering if it wasn’t just the pigment used that causes such bad staining. I guess if you want a great orange like this you gotta deal with the staining. I suppose I’ll live. πŸ™‚

        • Ahhh I see… well if the staining isn’t the same then I might just have to get both, too! I hate when my cuticles look all nasty even after cleaning up. I predict a trip to the store to find the Navigate Her collection soon! πŸ˜‰

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

