Nautical Heart Nails

Good Morning!

I saw some super-cute nautical nails on Pinterest (the best link I can find is here , if you know the original source, please let me know) and wanted to copy them for Valentine’s Day. I chose to do my hearts facing my free edge instead of my cuticle, but overall I think I did a pretty good copycat 🙂 Take a look and let me know what you think:

Nautical Heart Nails:

I love the combination of navy, white and red.

I love this blue polish but it stains so bad. NEVER wear navy without base coat. You can still see a little staining around my cuticles.

It was hard to photograph these nails because with flash you could see some white behind the navy where the polish was a little thin.

See some of the bald-ish spots? You can't tell at all in real life though, so it's just a photo problem 🙂 Mannn... I love these nails!

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Apply your favorite base coat. I used Essie Feed Me.
  2. Apply 2 coats of OPI Alpine Snow, then one coat of Seche Vite. Allow to dry thoroughly. (Just as a fun fact: I had only painted one hand white when I realized it was time to go to my husband’s basketball game, so I actually went to the game with one hand painted white and the other naked only with base coat! I was trying to refrain from clapping and not show my hands.)
  3. When the white is dry, use tape or straight french manicure polish guards to tape off a couple of strips of white nail on each finger. Press the tape down firmly so you don’t get any seepage.
  4. Once all the nails are taped off, paint one nail at a time with one healthy coat of Cult Nails Time Traveler. As soon as you’re done with the coat of Time Traveler, remove the tape from that finger. I waited a little too long and the polish set up and marred some of my nails when I removed the tape. 😦
  5. Repeat step 4 for all nails.
  6. Allow the blue to dry to the touch.
  7. Use Sally Hansen Insta-Dri in Rapid Red and a toothpick or unbent bobby pin (that’s what I use) to dot a heart on each nail near the free edge. You can play with the placement of the heart on each nail, or keep it consistent.
  8. Allow your nails to dry quite thoroughly before you apply your topcoat. When mine were dry I used one coat of Seche Vite and two coats of Sally Hansen Mega Shine (which I applied later in the evening).
  9. Admire your super-cute, sure-to-be-noticed nails! 🙂

I absolutely love these nails!! I’m wearing them for an unprecedented 3 days! 🙂 People have complimented me on them a ton, and with my Seche/SHMS topcoat duo my nails still look perfect even after going to the bball game, scrubbing cups out after my art classes, tutoring, showering, etc. I swear, that combo is like armor for your nails! These nails are on my list of faves for sure.

What are your favorite nails that I’ve done? What are your favorite nails to do yourself? Please share using the comment form below. I love to hear what other people are wearing! Thank you for reading and until next time, Happy Polishing!!!

6 thoughts on “Nautical Heart Nails

  1. *-* LOVE THESE! Ok, so these def go in my top 3 fav youve done so far (my all time fav is the waves with the turtles :-). So cute! I think I may have to copy these…..hope you dont mind!

    • Oh thank you!!! That just about makes my day that you even know what your all-time fave is! And heck no I don’t mind if you copy them!! 😀 I don’t have the lockdown on any nail design (and if I did that would be even better! Haha) and I would even like to post a picture at some point if you wouldn’t mind and if you tweeted it to me. 🙂 Thanks for being such a loyal reader AND commenter!

  2. Pingback: Day 24: Skittley Nautical Nails | Polish Me, Please!

  3. Pingback: Pink and Nude Striped Tape Mani | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

