Layla Magnetic Polish- Turquoise Wave

Hey Everyone,

I hope you all had a great Valentine’s Day. I had a pretty darn good one myself. My kids in my art classes and in my tutoring groups were really happy with the valentines that I got them, and even though they were a little hyped up on sugar, everyone behaved themselves, so “phewwwww”… it was a good day. šŸ™‚ Then after work my husband surprised me with a cute plant, a sweet card and a gift card for some new clothes (yayyy!), I got my Ulta Rewards certificate in the mail for the quarter (Christmas quarter, cha-ching!!) and then we went to the Blazer game. The Blazers lost šŸ˜¦ and our all-star LaMarcus Aldridge went out with an ankle injury within the first two minutes (thank goodness x-rays later revealed it was a sprain, nothing broken), but it was still a fun game and it was nice to go. My husband has a partial-season package, but I only go every once in a while. I do love my Blazers though!

I wore some super cute nails yesterday as well, some nautical nails with hearts that you guys will be seeing as soon as I can get some pics in sunlight. For today, though, I’d like to share with you the magnetic polish I got for Christmas and have never swatched!! Today we have:

Turquoise Wave:

Color:

Turquoise Wave is a lovely metallic turquoise that when combined with magnet gives stripes of turquoise, silver, black and many variations of those three colors.

How It Works:

  1. Apply your favorite base coat, allow to dry.
  2. Apply one medium coat of magnetic polish to one nail.
  3. Immediately after applying the wet polish, hold the magnet in the lid ab0ve the wet polish for about 15 seconds and then pull away. You’ll see that the magnet pulled up the iron in the polish, leaving behind an awesome air-brushed-looking design.
  4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for the rest of your nails.
  5. Allow polish to dry, and then apply your favorite topcoat.
  6. “Oooh” and “Awe” over your trendy textured nails šŸ™‚

Application and Formula:

The formula is a bit thick, but not problematic. The brush is big and super soft, which can make application a little difficult but with a little practice it doesn’t pose much of a problem. What I would warn against is holding the magnet too close to the wet polish. The magnet in the lid of the Layla polish is really strong and if you hold the magnet too close (I would recommend holding it about 1/4″ away from your nail) it will actually pull the polish up and mar your nails.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Yes, Please! I love the air-brushed quality of the design. For now magnetic polishes are fairly unique and therefore garner quite a bit of attention for your nails, which I also like. These polishes are a little expensive (my mom bought mine for $15 as a Christmas gift) but considering how easy they are and what an interesting effect you get, the price is definitely worth having at least one of these polishes in your collection.

Do you have any magnetic polishes? How was your Valentine’s Day? Please share in the comments below šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Layla Magnetic Polish- Turquoise Wave

  1. I’ve tried a magnetic polish from nails inc. and got 5 of the China Glaze Magnetix collection. I think I prefer the nails inc magnet. I really like the China Glaze polishes, though. I have seen the Layla polishes at the nail places I go to but I haven’t tried them. I think that Ulta also has them now. I am really bad at holding the magnet without touching my nail and the CG magnet seems really weak. I think it would work better if my nails weren’t as curved. This turquoise Layla polish you swatched is very vibrant which is what I like!

    • Yes, I like how colorful it is, too, and yes, they are available at Ulta now. šŸ™‚ I was worried the color may be more greyed out, but thankfully it’s not. How are the CG magnetic polishes color-wise? I’ve heard they may need more than one coat. I love the designs on the CG magnet but I’m a little concerned the magnet will be too weak and annoying. I, too, touched my nails a few times but I think the key (at least with strong magnets like Layla and Nails Inc) is to not hold the magnet too close, because it IS super strong and pulls the polish up. I noticed I wasn’t actually touching my nail, the polish was really raising up. Oh well, practice makes perfect! Thanks for joining in on the conversation! šŸ˜€

      • Most are good with one thick coat but I’d rather do two thin coats. I think what I dislike the most is the weak magnets. It’s really a pain to know how to center it, and I had to mess with it so many times. Even when I centered it perfectly, I accidentally touch it to the nail. GRRRRRRRRRRRR! I was so annoyed. But you’re right, practice makes perfect. Scrangie posted an entry about working with these polishes and some of her tips. It was great.

        • Thanks for the info. I like the magnetic polishes, but at this point I don’t think I’ll get many, if any, more. Once you’ve seen one do it’s thang, you’ve kinda seen em all, y’know what I mean?
          I loved her post. I really loved the Q&A. It killed me!!! People asked things like “Will the magnet work on regular polish?” and all kinds of questions like that. I had to tweet her and tell her how hard it made me laugh. She had some great tips tho, for sure!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

