Stormy Seas Watercolor Nails

Good Morning!

Yesterday I showed  you my first watercolor mani. Today I’m going to show you the next one I did, using a slightly different method. Instead of dripping the polish on my nails and then using a brush with acetone or remover on it to smear the polish around, I used my painting palette and dripped a drop or two into one of the wells, then thinned it down with polish thinner and used my paintbrush to apply it to my nail.

My 2nd Watercolor Mani:

I hope you don’t mind all the pictures… I just LOVE how this turned out!! Thinning the nail polish before applying it to my nail allowed the application to be much more controlled and I could add just as much of each color as I wanted. Also, by using similar colors on a neutral base instead of stark white, I think it looks much more smooth and gives it a washed effect. These nails with the blue polishes make me think of a stormy grey ocean. 🙂

Polishes I Used:

  • Ulta basecoat
  • OPI Skull and Glossbones as the base color
  • Ulta Moody Blues (thinned)
  • OPI Fly (thinned)
  • Seche Vite as topcoat over Skull and Glossbones and over the finished watercolor mani.

How do you do your watercolor manis? Do you like this one as much as I do? Let me know what you think using the comment form below 🙂

4 thoughts on “Stormy Seas Watercolor Nails

    • Thank you very much! You can find nail polish thinner at Sally beauty supply or other beauty supply type places. Maybe even like at ulta, just look near the nail polish and treatments.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

