My First Watercolor Mani

Hey Everyone,

I finally tried doing some watercolor nails which are really popular right now in the nail blog world. I think it turned out okay, but I don’t particularly love my choices of colors.

Let’s have a look:

(click to enlarge!)

Here’s how I did these nails:

  1. Apply Ulta basecoat.
  2. Apply 2 coats of OPI Alpine Snow.
  3. Apply 1 coat of Seche Vite, allow to dry.
  4. Apply 1 thick coat of SH Mega Shine.
  5. Apply 1 more layer of Seche. Allow to dry.
  6. Set your work station up with: a regular watercolor paintbrush, a cap full of acetone or nail polish remover, a napkin or paper towel for blotting and a covered/acetone-proof workspace. Also, get your two polishes out (OPI Pink Friday and OPI Fly)
  7. Drip a small drip of Pink Friday onto the bottom (nearest the cuticle) portion of your nail.
  8. Quickly dip the paintbrush in the acetone/remover and use it to smear the pink blob around on your nail.
  9. Drip a small drip of Fly (slightly smaller than Pink Friday, because it will take over since it’s darker) in the same spot as Pink Friday. Dip the paintbrush back into the acetone/remover and smear Fly around.
  10. Go back over any nails that you would like to change with the brush dipped in acetone/remover.
  11. When your nails look how you want them to, seal with a final coat of Seche Vite.

Overall I was pleased with how the watercolor technique turned out. I like how light and watery the colors get and I like how they blend together. What I don’t like particularly well is the colors I chose together. I like how the pink and blue blend together to make a little purple, but I just don’t like the pastel colors. My nails were a little too “Easter Egg” for my liking. People who like pink and purple and pastels and who perfect their technique would probably really love these nails. Me… I’m going to try some darker colors and see how it looks. 🙂

Have you tried the watercolor technique? How did yours turn out?

 

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

