My Very Own Octopus Nails :)

Hellooooo Everybody!!

Today I’m so excited to share with you some nails that I did to coordinate with one of my toddler art classes. In this particular class, Storybook Adventures, the kids bring in their lunches and we eat lunch, then we read a book and then do a craft that goes along with the book. Well last week we read “My Very Own Octopus” by Bernard Most. After we read this book (which is super cute, btw) we made our own octopi and painted them purple. Here’s the book and a finished octopus:

It just so happens that a couple of weeks ago when I was looking around on Beautylish, I found some cute octopus nails and they were done by none other than Mary from Swatch and Learn! If you click on her name you’ll go to her octopus nails. Anyway, as soon as I saw hers I knew I HAD to do some octopus nails for my art class. 🙂

My Very Own Octopus Nails:

Right hand

Left hand

Left hand

Right hand

These were so easy to do! I opted not to do every nail like Mary did (she has a far steadier hand than me!) but I love how the accent nails on each hand turned out. Can you believe how nice my right hand turned out?! Neither can I! Haha. I expected it to be a major mess but it turned out pretty darn good, too.

Here’s how I did these nails:

  1. 2 coats of Essie Feed Me base coat.
  2. 2 coats of OPI Steady As She Rose.
  3. 1 coat of Seche Vite, 1 coat of SH Mega Shine, 1 more coat of Seche Vite.
  4. Use the polish brush from OPI Planks a Lot to make an oval/circle shape toward the top of your nail.
  5. Put a little Planks a Lot on a square of foil, and use a toothpick to dip it into the polish and make 8 squiggly legs coming from the bottom of the circle/oval.
  6. Allow the purple to dry for ~10 minutes.
  7. Use a black nail pen (or the toothpick again, in black polish) to add the eyes and smile. Let that dry a few minutes.
  8. Apply one coat of a plain top coat, like OPI clear.
  9. After that is dry to the touch, apply Seche Vite dry fast top coat.
  10. Admire your lovely, lovely work!

I thought these were so fun to wear on the day I taught my octopus art lesson! The kids were pretty impressed as well 🙂

I hope you thought they were fun, too! As always, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!! 😀

4 thoughts on “My Very Own Octopus Nails :)

    • Thanks so much for the comment!! I like nails inspired by anything! Haha. This was such a cute book, craft, nail combo that I just couldn’t not do it. 🙂 And so easy… You can’t beat that!

  1. Girl, that’s craazzzy!! LOVE IT. I am so gonna haveta try this nifty lil’ design on myself-I’ve been fleshing out my nail art portfolio and it’s always nice to be able to discover cool new “pieces” to add to my display. : )

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

