Finger Paints Special Effects Collection- Flakies at Any Budget! :) Twisted Review

Hey Everyone,

Here is what I know about about flakies: they are lovely, they are “in” right now… and… I’m afraid they’re going to go the way of shatter top coats. I love flakies, I really do! However, I hate when something is suddenly “in” and unique and then every brand known to man hops on the bandwagon and floods the market. I like my nails to be new and special, I don’t want every person I see wearing my exact same nails. Now, that being said, flakies are awesome! They flash different colors, can look different over different base colors and for the moment I don’t see everyone on the street wearing them. Call me a polish snob, I just like to (attempt to) be kinda cutting edge so I wish things would stay unique longer. Oh well- share the love, right? And these cheaper flakies make flaky goodness available to everyone. For that reason, I’m very happy! Also, one thing that may save flake glitter from being totally overplayed is that they really don’t look like much until they get on the nail, and my Sally’s did a horrible job of marketing them: just shoving them on a shelf with no promo pics.

This is “Twisted”: (click to enlarge)

2 coats of Twisted over 2 coats of FP Black Expressionism

I love how all the colors show up over black.

Flaky polishes remind me of fish food… do they do that to anyone else?!

Color:

Twisted is a mix of orange, green, blue, and purple flakes. The orange flakes kind of flash between orange and a pearly off-white/yellow color but all the rest stay the same. Like I said in the caption of the photo, this polish in particular makes me think of fish food. The flakes are about the same size as fish food and all the colors just really resemble it. Maybe I’m just weird! Haha. The flakes in this polish are good-sized and they’re pretty dense. I could have put on more coats of Twisted but I think it’s plenty flaky with two.

Formula:

The formula is great. The flakes, like I said above, are large and densely packed and the base is smooth and of good consistency. The great thing about flakies is that since they’re flakes, they lay perfectly smooth on the nail. No rough finish like regular glitter. ๐Ÿ™‚

Another Way To Wear It:

This is 2 coats of Twisted over 2 coats of OPI Skull and Glossbones

In low light you can see the glowy quality of the flakes

Twisted is subtle but beautiful over Skull and Glossbones, all the colors flash gently against the greige base.

Close up! Check out those flakes ๐Ÿ™‚

Twisted looks great over pale polish. I have seen other bloggers putting it over white and it looks really awesome then, too. I think it looks like the sparkle you sometimes see on freshly fallen snow. When I was younger we snowmobiled through Yellowstone National park. It was an all-day journey and like nothing I’ve ever done. We’d stop in fields and ride our snowmobiles up and down the hills, we rode through a herd of buffalo… it was amazing! But what I remember about the snow is how sparkly it was. This polish over a light color reminds me of that surreal sparkly snow I saw in Yellowstone. If you have read/watched Twilight… it’s kinda like the Cullens’ skin in sunlight. ๐Ÿ™‚

Yes, Please! orย  No, Thank you:

Even though I complained that it’s getting played out, I still love it. It’s a Yes, Please! for me. I would like to see even larger flakes come out, or flakes in specific shapes (square?). Also, I love the look of flakies with glitter over them like I did with my Clairvoyant back when I first got it. I bet someone will soon mix flakes with regular glitter. Imagine that glitterbomb- flakes, large hex, small hex, microglitter and round glitter! Oooh boy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you have this yet? This polish is only available at Sally Beauty Supply and is under $5 with your Sally’s card. If you don’t have any flakies, I strongly suggest you grab this one. It’s the most stand-out for me. Stay tuned for my review of Motley, the other Finger Paints Special Effects polish that I bought. Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

14 thoughts on “Finger Paints Special Effects Collection- Flakies at Any Budget! :) Twisted Review

    • I’m posting a review for that one tomorrow morning!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really liked that one, too. Do you have any other flakies? This one is great because of all the different colors. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

  1. Pingback: Green and Blue Motley Review | Polish Me, Please!

  2. Pingback: online psychic network

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

