Red With White Polka Dots

Painting my nails is usually a brainless pastime/creative outlet, but tonight it has me thinking. My grandma Roseann died when I was 12 (15 years ago). I was lucky enough to spend a lot of time with her because her and my grandpa lived close-by, my family is very close, she babysat me when I was little and my parents used to always go over to my grandma and grandpa’s to watch NBA games. I remember a lot of yelling, hooting and hollering and it was always a lot of fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

When I set out to do these nails, I was inspired by how festive the white and red Starbucks coffee cups look and wanted to do a Christmas-y polish look without being overtly Christmas-y. As I was getting ready to paint them I tweeted that I was hoping they wouldn’t be too Minnie Mouse. When I had them finished I realized that what they really scream to me is: Grandma Roseann. She LOVED polka dots! She was such a cute lady with an ample top half and skinny legs. She liked blousy tops and whenever I see polka dots I think of her. Isn’t that funny, how something as simple as polka dots can bring back such strong memories? If she was still around I know she’d love my nail polish blog, and she’d especially love these polka dot nails. I don’t know what her favorite color was… maybe pink because she alwaysย  had her nails painted with pink OPI nail polish… but I think she’d accept red as a close second. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, onto the nails:

These have an OPI Big Apple Red base with OPI Alpine Snow polka dots that I made with a toothpick.

Even when I showed my dad he said, “Your grandma would love those!” but I also think they’re festive. ๐Ÿ™‚

Dot manis are so easy and always turn out so cute!! I never met a dot I didn’t like. ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is extraย  fitting because for this week’s young elementary art class (it’s called Storybook Adventures) we read a book about how dots can be art and we did some dot art of our own. I guess it’s a polka dotty kind of week. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Red With White Polka Dots

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

