Camouflage Nails Tutorial

Hey There Polished People!

As you may know, I went camping last week. My husband was going hunting so I went along just to camp and kinda see what he does when he goes hunting. I like shooting, but the only think I like to kill are beer cans. It was fun while it lasted but as it turned out we had to come home a couple of days early because a huge storm blew in that caused trees to uproot, flooded the rivers, knocked out power and even killed a person right in the area where we were camping/hunting. It was a little scary, but we made it out. Good thing I have four-wheel drive!! Some of the road had water flowing over it when we left, and we even had to get out of our trucks (I took mine with 4WD, my husband took his to pull the trailer) to move a big tree off the road. It was pretty crazy. I even had to be the pilot car and go ahead of my husband and kinda scout the road out and communicate with him via 2-way-radio to make sure the trailer could make it out of the backwoods area. It was a little rugged for me (I’m not really much of a camper) but it was definitely exciting.

While my husband was out hunting one day, I stayed in the trailer and painted my nails with some camo nail art. I was really quite impressed with myself. Have a look and let’s see if I can impress you, as well. ;)

Camo Nails

 

 

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with ChG Kalahari Kiss.
  3. Put a dot of Essie Navigate Her on a square of tin foil and dip a thin, slanted brush into the paint.
  4. Use the brush to dab oval splotches randomly on your nail.
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 with ChG Gaga For Green (instead of Navigate Her), trying to fill in a little of the space between the previous splotches.
  6. Repeat steps 3 and 4 with ChG Westside Warrior.
  7. Repeat steps 3 and 4 with ChG Agro, and go a little heavy on these splotches, filling in a lot of the open space. 
  8. Clean up your cuticles with the slanted brush dipped in acetone.
  9. When your nails are mostly dry, apply a coat of Seche Vite.
  10. Show the guys in your life, if these camo nails don’t impress them, I don’t know what will. :)

    While I waited for my nails to completely dry, I got to read some of my book. It was about 600 pages and I read it in 3 days. Ahhhhh it was so nice. :)

Are you much of a camper? How do you like these nails? What is a nail design that you’ve done recently that made you pat yourself on the back? These are it for me. :) I just loved them!!! Thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! :D

 

21 thoughts on “Camouflage Nails Tutorial

  1. Thanks for the easy to follow how to! I am going to do this with ? colors – I need a polish job today and ready for something fun and not at all holiday because I know soon I will get into wearing a lot of Christmas kinds of shades. I do love to camp…but don’t think of camo and camping ever together…camping for me is usually up the road into the Redwoods in Big Sur – that’s one of my fav places to go because it’s pretty, peaceful and I can get there and be all set up in 40 mins. I have a pair of skinny jeans in camo I have been going to donate for the past yr but cannot part with them..they fit so perfect..just wish I could take out the camo and make them into black skinny jeans! I kind of thought camo was going to make a big come back this fall – but only see a few accessories in it – not pants – so guess it’s time for my skinny jeans to go by-by!

    • Camo is fun. I mean, it never really got “in” this year as much as planned but it’s fun and cute in the right situation. Maybe you could dye those skinnies black! That would be awesome since they’re so perfect otherwise. :) And you should totally try these nails. You could do a different color camo like pink or blue. That would be fun!! :)

  2. Love ‘em! Very cute! What a great way to spend camping. I usually love ruggedness but definitely would’ve not been a fan of storms & trees falling! But I do love trailering & it seems like y’all enjoyed yourselves.

    • Yeah I like it EXCEPT when we have to go all Rambo and remove trees from the road. Haha. It was still nice though. I’m faux-rugged. I go but I bring my nail polish. :) I prefer summer camping when we can have a big camp fire and drink around the fire. That’s my style. ;)

    • You’ve never gone this time of year- for good reason!! Haha. It was just fine thought thankfully. This may be the first and last time I go in the winter. :) Thanks about the nails btw!! ;)

  3. Firstly, I am glad that you are OK!
    Secondly, I love the shot of your nails with the book! What book did you read?
    I have never been shooting, but I want to try it. Just shooting, though, like at a range…not hunting.
    I am *not* a camper. I’ve probably told this story before, but I had to go on a retreat for Leadership class in middle school, and I said to the teacher, “Is this like camping? I’m from New Jersey, I don’t camp,” and he still remembers it to this day.
    Recent nail art…I guess my Halloween mani and my Thanksgiving mani (which I haven’t posted yet). They were both pretty simple, but I felt some level of pride in them. ;)

    • Haha yeah it was quite the adventure and I used to not camp either, till I met Daniel who loves camping. :) Shooting is fun!! I don’t want to shoot any animals, although I don’t have a problem w people who do hunt, but I just couldn’t do it and only like to shoot targets. It’s really fun, I’m telling you. :)
      The book I read is called Clockwork Prince. It’s a book in this series by Cassandra Clare. It’s a YA fantasy/adventure type book. I really like YA books for whatever reason. This series has the regular books (which I’ve read, there are like 4 or 5 I’m currently reading the last one) and then there are prequels which this is the 2nd I think of the prequels. Anyway- they’re really good. I love reading. I have never met a nail polish I didn’t like and I’ve only met a handful of books I didn’t like. :)

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

