Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Lava Swatches and Review

Hey There Everyone,

I don’t even want to take up space with any little chat. Let’s just see all these pictures I have for you. Without further ado, here is…

Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Lava

Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Lava

Ahhh check out all those beautiful colors! :) You can see some pink, orange, copper, gold..

This polish is the color of fall leaves on fire.

Look at all the pink in this photo!!

Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Lava

Color:

As you can see, Lava is a copper/pink/orange/bronze/gold multi-chrome, super-shimmery, metallic polish. Like I said in the captions this polish really makes me think of fall leaves on fire. It has that color-shifting, flame-like look to it and the colors just scream “fall.” I wish it were a little more opaque in one coat so I could use it for stamping!

Formula/Application:

The formula is a bit on the thin side, but builds nicely in a couple of coats. It tends to drag, so leave a bit of drying time between coats and pay special attention to your tips where it really tends to drag off. I had a hard time getting it to wrap  my tips, which I found very annoying. Als0, probably because of the difficulty in wrapping your tips, this polish is quick to chip. As soon as I washed a few little dishes all the tips of my nails were worn off. This was especially disgusting because on two of my fingers on my right hand I used a black base (because sometimes black helps bring out the color-shifting ability of polishes like this) and where my tips had worn off I was left with disgusting, sooty-looking, blackish tips. Ew. For the record- this polish does not need a black base. All the pictures you see are 3 coats of Lava over SH Hard As Nails base coat.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Despite the application issues with Lava and lack of longevity, I still love this polish. The color is so pretty! It’s sparkly, color-shifting, attention-getting and just wonderful. Despite the over-inflated price ($8 for a .33 oz bottle) I’m really glad I bought this. In the future when I use it, I will use my “nail armor” top coat which is a coat of Seche Vite, followed by a coat of SH Mega Shine, topped with a final coat of Seche. This usually keeps my nails perfect for a few days so I’ll try that in the future because even with my every-day topper of Seche the tips were gone in no time. :(

Have you seen these Lustre Shine polishes in-store? Have you picked any of them up? Do you think this is over-priced for Sally Hansen brand? Weigh-in in the comments below!! As always thanks so much for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! :D

12 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Lava Swatches and Review

    • It’s reallllly pretty :) If you can find it you should pick this one up. There are several others in this collection, maybe if you like this one you’ll like the others. They didn’t all wow me at the time, but this one in particular caught my eye.

        • Yeah in the store you can see a little color shifting but you always can in the bottle :( so its like hmmm maybe this will be ok. But then get it home and in the sunlight or even inside and it’s very cool. :) I’m glad you like it!

  1. I like how you’re like, “No talking, this polish is so amazing, just look at it!” It is pretty amazing…it looks great on you! Seems it needs a little extra futzing, but it also seems to be worth it!

    • Thank you! Yeah it definitely is a bit of a diva, but is reallllly pretty. :) Sometimes I feel like I chatter on and on so with this polish I was like, I’m already posting a billion pictures, so I’m just gonna get right to them! :)

  2. I loved this so much I ran right over to Walgreen’s and YES! They had a display with it, and YES! I scored the very LAST bottle of Lava. Ummm, it’s rather pricey and the bottle has a very dense bottom/thick glass bottom meaning it holds less polish than it looks like, but I can’t wait for my next polish change to try it out!

    • YAY!! I’m glad you snagged the last bottle!! Luckyyyy! I can’t wait for you to try it- lmk how you like it and don’t forget to use your best and toughest topcoat, cuz it needs it!! And yeah it is kinda crappy that it’s a .33 oz bottle for 8 bucks (unless you got it on sale!) but…. whatever. I never use a full bottle of polish anyway so I guess if I use this bottle up at some point at least I can say I finally used an entire bottle. Haha.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

