Day 1: Red Nails

Good Morning Polished People!!

Today is the first of what is going to be 31 posts that I’m doing along with a few of my nail blogger friends. We have revamped the 31 Day Challenge a bit, and we are doing our posts every 3 days to accommodate work schedules. Oh- and we are taking a break for Halloween! :) It’s going to be a lot of fun doing posts alongside these ladies, I hope you all enjoy them, too. :) The other bloggers participating in this challenge are:

Alaina from The Little Canvas

Ave from Polish Pixelle

Cynthia from Of Life and Lacquer, and

Jessica from Once Upon A Polish

You will be able to see their nails by using the links above. Make sure to check them out and leave some love. :) Now- let’s see my nails. :)

Day 1: Red Nails

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Apply 2-3 coats of OPI Pink Friday.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry a little.
  4. Using a dotting tool and SH Rapid Red, apply the dots sparingly at the top of the nail, and more and more closely as you near the cuticle. One thing to keep in mind is that when you drip some polish on a piece of foil or whatever you do to dip your dotting tool into the polish, make sure you only drip about one fat drop onto your surface because it will dry really quick. If you keep using the same drying polish you’ll get all these messy little strings like you can see I got on my nails. From far away you couldn’t see them, but up close in these pics you can see they lookalikeamess. :(
  5. When your dots are dry, apply your final coat of Seche and call it macaroni!!

I was inspired to do this design by the wallpaper in the Big Brother house. Does anyone else watch that show? I love it! In one of the rooms (maybe the bathroom?) there is this light blue wall paper with almost this gradient of darker blue dots that start far apart and end up so close together that it’s all dark blue. Anyway that’s what made me try this method. Now that I’ve used my dotting tool a few times I think I could do a much better job, but for my second time using my dotting tool I was mostly happy with this.

Let me know if you like Big Brother, if you like these nails, and if you’ve ever done a 31 Day Challenge. I’m hyped! :) Make sure to check out the other ladies’ blogs as well. As always thanks so much for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! :D


28 thoughts on “Day 1: Red Nails

  1. I just learned that polishmeplease. blogspot . com is not really a formed blog…and was beyond confused going WHERE IS NICOLE’S BLOG when i typed that in. You and your wordpress lol. Love these! they are so pretty!!! And ave pointed out that our opening sentences are the same :). Great minds think alike!

    • I know!! When I read yours I was like wait.. I thought I was reading Alaina’s. Even tho you NEVER READ MY BLOG YOU BRAT!!!! I must be rubbing off on your magically. Haha. And yeahhhh I’m wordpress… sometimes I kinda wish I was blogger but… this is where I started. :)

  2. Win! This is so cool, way to start off right. And with a bang, too! I don’t watch Big Brother, not at least since the very first seasons. But I know they always do bold decorating choices so I can envision this wallpaper in my mind.

    And good tip about refreshing your dot of polish when using dotting tools, I found that out the hard way when I did my Teal Tuesday dotticure last week. But by the time I realized what was going on I was too tired to care! lol

    • Thank you! :) Yeah they always have cool decorating. I wish my house looked like that. My house is pretty bold- I have bright green walls and an orange kitchen- but the BB house is always awesome. :) I’m glad you like these nails! I really needed to be more careful with the dots but like you were saying, I too kinda realized at the point where I was too tired to care much! Haha.

    • Some ideas that I thought would be cool but we just couldn’t fit in include- watercolor mani, studs and rhinestones, crazy tips, loose glitter/gleequins, inspired by a favorite piece of jewelry, needle drag, needle marbling, fish egg manicures, first nail art I ever attempted, outline nails, ruffian, ombré nails, favorite way to wear my nails…. I might be able to think of more. Do any of those sound good? Oh and- Thank You! :)

  3. Normally I would be all like, “Pink and red, no way!,” but these are super-cute! I also like the design of the dots (inspired by the wallpaper). I’m so unoriginal…if I do polka dot manis, I just do the same dots all over the nail. I need to branch out!
    I’ve never watched Big Brother, but certainly have my cache of reality shows ;P
    I’m going to repeat myself on the challengers’ blogs today, but I’m excited to see what you all come up with. I think red was a good first choice and I like that it’ll be spaced out a bit, for your sake and because I get to enjoy it over a longer period of time! I also think it’ll make me more involved Ave and Aliana’s blogs, too.

    • Thank you :D And I’m glad you’re ok with it being so spaced out. I hope people don’t lose interest because of that. Usually I would think red and pink would clash but idk… I’m a clashy kind of person! ;p

  4. I just keep thinking strawberries every time I see this. And whenever I see strawberries, I think of this lady I met in Florence. She was knitting fruit-inspired hats for kids and this little girl came up and started begging her mom for one. The mom asks: Ti piace la fragola? (Do you like the strawberry?) I don’t know why that memory sticks in my head after so many years, but I thought it was adorable. Have you used Rapid Red for stamping?

    • Haha that’s a funny and random memory to have!! It’s funny how things, like even just a phrase, can really stick in your memory. And yes I use Rapid Red for all my red stamping. The only Insta Dri that I don’t use for stamping is a new glitter polish that I just got the other day. It’s called In A Flurry and the base is just a bit too sheer. Do you use Rapid Red?

        • Yeah I would like an even darker red but depending on what base color I use this can be from a regular like primary red color to a darker shade. What I really want, and have wanted for what seems like forever is a grey creme for stamping. I can only find metallic silvers or sometimes shimmers but I just want a flat grey creme!! None of the stores I go to have it from SH. I can’t believe they don’t make grey!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

