Julep Blake Swatches and Review

Good Morning Everyone,

My posts have been a bit sporadic lately with the wedding and, as some of you know from Twitter, a family emergency. Speaking of the family emergency real quick- I want to say thanks to all of you for thinking positive thoughts, saying a prayer, and also checking up on me to see how things are progressing. Thank you all for that, sincerely. I really appreciate it.

Today I want to share a swatch of one of my Julep polishes with you. Julep is an interesting company. I didn’t know very much about them before I got my PR pack. They’re quite the girl power company and I like it!! They also strive to use only the best materials for their beauty products and really seek to put out a good message about beauty. If you want to read more about their company please visit their website here.

These are the three nails polishes I was so kindly sent to use and review in conjunction with the giveaway (have you entered yet??!! If not, click here and dooooo ittttt!!!) These three colors from top to bottom are Morgan, Claire and Blake. Today I will be reviewing Blake.

Julep Blake

Color:

Julep’s Blake is a soft daffodil yellow polish. It’s soft, yet bright and I find it to be a very flattering shade. :)

Formula/Application:

The application is just fine, totally non-problematic. Also I found that Blake’s pigment was very opaque for such a light color and where as other colors similar to this one tend to take 4-5 coats to reach complete opacity, this polish was good in 3 careful coats.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

If you don’t have a soft yellow, I’d definitely use this link (click here!!) and order yourself an intro maven box that includes this polish! Use the code MAVENINTRO and you can get it for just ONE PENNY! I like this color as a base for nail art and just as some nice, clean, light nails that aren’t quite as stark as white. Also, make sure to click HERE to enter my giveaway to win a Julep Maven box for free!

Have you tried Julep’s Blake? How do you like it? I have to say I am pretty impressed. I actually love the cute little bottles and although not exactly ground-breaking the colors are super nice! AND they have special boxes around the holidays that DO have some awesome and unique polishes. Let me know what you think and till next time- Happy Polishing!! :D

PS: Don’t forget to enter my giveaway to win your own Julep Maven box of awesome Julep polishes by clicking here and entering the Rafflecopter giveaway!! You can read my post about the giveaway and learn about another way to win a box here.

*These polishes were sent to me by the company or their PR for review. This in no way affects my opinion of the product or how I review it. If it sucks, you’re gonna know!*

20 thoughts on “Julep Blake Swatches and Review

    • It’s a really nice one, for sure!! I tend to think I don’t like pastels but clearly I’m in denial because every time I try one (w a good formula like this one) I love it!! :)

  1. This looks really good on you! Soft, pretty, and simple.
    I don’t have any Juleps. Thanks to you and Cynthia I have learned more of the details about the box situation, which addressed some of my concerns. Once my job/salary situation becomes stable (I am saying “once” because it is going to, damnit!), I think I will join! ;)

    • Yeah it’s really nice that you can preview them and either accept or skip them for each month. I have got to do a better post where I state that. I read Cynthia’s and I think when I’m typing I think that it was me who said it but then I remember SIKE! it was her. Haha. I like this color a lot. :) AND the other 2 I got were great as well! Stay tuned for those. :)

    • It’s similar just a bit lighter. :) I use that polish for stamping all the time!!

      Thanks. She’s having a bit of a rough time right now but I’m hopeful that everything will be hard, but ok.

      • I didn’t use my insta-dri for stamping, but cynthia told me that you suggested it.. so i tried and I did nails using lightening this week.. it looked great..!

        My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this time..!

    • Thanks! I liked them a lot more than I anticipated. :) Julep described Morgan as frosty so naturally I was like ew, puke, but when I saw it I thought it was so pretty! It’s shimmery and beautiful. :) Thanks for reading and commenting! I hope you entered the giveaway!

  2. I am so bad with twitter, i didnt even see im sorry, whatever it was.is i hope everhing is alright, if mot my thoughts are with you for whatever is needed <3 the yellows gorgeus and i love that purple!!

    • Thanks Amanda. My sister in law (also named Amanda)’s mom had an aneurysm and is in the hospital and not probably coming out for at least a couple of weeks. I’m hopeful it’s going to be ok but it’s still scary. Thanks for your good thoughts. :)

      About the polish- they’re all so pretty! I was especially pleasantly surprised w the purple (Morgan). It’s similar to Grape Set Match but a little cooler-toned and just really pretty and sparkly. It works great for Saran wrap nails!! :)

  3. I hope everything is ok! (I haven’t been keeping up with Tweets…)
    These polishes are pretty. Blake looks like a great yellow! There are some yellows that look off, but this one looks lovely on you!

    • Thanks Traci. I think things are ok for now so that’s good. :)

      Yes this yellow is great! It’s so bright yet soft that it just looks so darn pretty! I love it. It reminds me of the yellow version of OPI pink Friday- how it’s soft yet somehow bright. Anyway- I love it. :)

  4. Since I have been on a serious yellow kick lately, I really like this. I just bought a yellow Sation that is a little less yellow than this and it has a pearly finish. I can’t wait to try it out.

    • Ooh that sounds really pretty. I’m on vacation and hoping some store out here carries Sation. I can’t wait to see that yellow swatched cuz a pearly yellow sounds really really cool. :) I love yellows, too. :)

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

