Request Line Nails- Sparkly Insect Wings

Good Morning Polished People!

Happy Monday! (is that an oxymoron?)  Today begins a super-busy week for me. As you may know my brother is getting married next weekend (T minus 5 days!!) so there is lots to do before the I Dos. Starting tomorrow I’m going to show you some wedding nails that I’d like you to help me decide between, but until I put a few more designs together I want to show you some nails specifically requested by Alaina from The Little Canvas. I talk to her on Twitter all the time, and one night quite a few weeks ago she showed me a picture of some nails on Pinterest that she wanted me to recreate. I am pretty sure I recreated these to a T, which in retrospect is a little boring, but I was excited that I had the exact materials necessary to do it. She said they kind of looked like bug wings to her, hence the name. :) Let’s have a look, shall we?

Sparkly Insect Wing Nails

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat. I used Essie Feed Me because I figured with the removal of this opaque glitter my nails would need all the hydration they could get!
  2. Paint your nails to opacity (we’re talking 3-4 coats) with OPI Gone Gonzo.
  3. Apply a thick coat of Seche Vite to smooth the glitter out slightly.
  4. Use Konad Special Black polish and stamp BM208 to stamp the design on each nail.
  5. Apply a final coat of Seche Vite and take these babies out into the sun, but try not to cause a plane crash with the light that is bound to reflect.

I thought these nails were pretty fun. Boy, were they sparkly! My goodness they were crazy pretty!! Even driving in my truck I was shocked with how much light these reflected all over the place. When I got these Muppet Collection glitters I wasn’t taking my pics outside (bad.. I know, I know) and it was winter so I didn’t even fully understand the sparkliness of these glitters. These nails were fun to wear, and got lots of compliments. Thank you, Alaina, for requesting them!!

How do you like these nails? What do you think they look like? :) Do you have a request for nails you’d like to see me do? If you do, don’t hesitate to leave your request here or Tweet me (@PolishMePlease). I always like trying new looks! :D Thank you all for reading and commenting, and till next time- Happy Polishing!! :D

18 thoughts on “Request Line Nails- Sparkly Insect Wings

    • Well thank you!! And don’t tell Alaina but I like the broken glass description better. ;) I think they definitely look like that! Sometimes when I stamp over glitter I feel like it muddles the effect a little but not w these! This was a good stamp over glitter. I loved them, too. :)

  1. broken glass!! :) loved it.

    how about the wedding nails? at what time is it? what’s the dresscode? does it has a theme? i would need this information to come up with a good suggestion you know..

    • Broken glass is great, huh?

      About the wedding- its at 2 pm, on the beach but elegant not too casual. The theme is tropical and um… is that enough? Haha.

        • I should have specified… my nails have to be wedding colors. So basically baby blue and purple. Otherwise neon would be great! They make me look super tan and show off my nails nicely when they’re filed all perfectly. :)

          • what about the nails from last week?? the blues and black half nails.. using baby blue and purple, and the line being white..! maybe a glittered top cover will make them sparkle..!!

            • You are really gonna love the nails I’m posting Wednesday. They’re almost exactly what you just said! Haha. Only i used For Audrey but may need to swap it out for CC Factory Girl. Great minds think alike! :)

  2. I can see why they look like insect wings but they actually reminded me of stained glass windows which reminds me of how I used to stare at the windows at church. I hated going to church when I was kid and I remember that would always look around at the people, at the windows…everywhere. So my mom would tell me that the devil was at the back of the church, and that’s why I always wanted to look back there. This was meant to scare me, but it just made me look back there even more because I wanted a glimpse of Satan. Ah…Catholics…we are an odd bunch. lol So back to your nails….the base doesn’t even look like glitter…it looks like crushed shattered glass or something. It’s beautiful. Gorgeous mani for sure.

    • Yes these are from the new BM set. Any plates that start w “3” (301 315 etc) are the new 2012 plates. :) You should definitely get them! I love them. They have some cool designs and as you can see- I use them alllll the time! :) If you do get them, tweet me some nails you do w them! :)

  3. Yes, Happy Monday is an oxymoron!
    I know how crazy a wedding can get, but I kind of like it. It’s a good distraction. I was in the wedding party for a couple of close friends…I doubt I will be again, but it was an experience.
    I LOVE THESE. That is all. Good suggestion by Aliana and good execution by Nicole!

    • It’s definitely an experience for sure. I need to tweet you and get some advice. I’ll have to see if I can do that tomorrow.

      Thanks for the compliments on the nails! With how sparkly and cute these turned out I wish I would have done them sooner!! :) Glitter removal is just such a beast to put it politely that I tend to steer of opaque glitter like this. I do love it tho while it’s on!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

