Neon And Nude Nails

Good Morning Polished People!

I’m just going to be honest here and tell you I’ve been feeling very grumpy lately. When I’m feeling grumpy, it’s hard for me to do my nails because it seems like I can’t do anything right and nothing turns out how I’d like it to. These nails are a prime example of that. I had this great idea to do a neon and nude nail, decided to use my favorite neon (ChG Orange Knockout), then decided to use a peachy-nude (ChG Sunset Sail). Well I taped off the orange, applied the peachy-nude and then peeled up the tape. Not only did I hate the color combo (which almost never happens to me) I also messed up with the tape and it didn’t look too nice. Sunset Sail wasn’t opaque enough so I had to apply it too thick, which caused most of my problems. Oh, and THEN I got a little black fiber stuck to one of them which I didn’t notice till it was too late. UGhhh….. Disasticure. Luckily, people at work and on Twitter still liked it so that made me feel a little better but overall I was feeling very disappointed with these nails. With that enticing introduction, let’s have a peek:

Neon and Nude Nails

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails white (I used OPI Alpine Snow).
  3. Paint your nails with ChG Orange Knockout.
  4. Apply a coat of Seche and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  5. When your nails are completely dry, use striping tape to tape of a design.
  6. Paint all your nails with one coat of ChG Sunset Sail.
  7. Once all your nails have one coat, go back and paint one nail at a time with another coat of Sunset Sail so that it’s opaque. immediately after applying this coat of polish, remove the striping tape. Hopefully your polish wont be so thick that the polish runs into the lines you’ve created like what happened to me. You definitely need to remove the tape quickly though, otherwise the polish will dry and you’ll peel up some of the Sunset Sail when you remove the tape.
  8. Repeat step 7 for all nails.
  9. Allow your nails to dry a little to avoid smearing and then apply your final coat of Seche Vite.
  10. I hope yours turn out better than mine! Share them with me on Twitter (@PolishMePlease)

Let me know what you thought about these. Have you done the nude and neon look? I know some of you have and it turned out sooo great. Too bad mine didn’t go that well. Oh well- next time :) Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!

PS: Stay tuned tomorrow for total mani redemption!!! :D

26 thoughts on “Neon And Nude Nails

  1. i did once the same combo and I swore I would never make that mistake again.

    my nails looked like my hand got stuck in the door while closing it, an the blood was all around the finger (comment courtesy of my husband).. will share with you on twitter and then you will laugh saying, ohh mine looks SO much better.

    I liked it, the only thing is that I immediately saw the fiber, but I guess non-polish-addicts AKA normal people, won’t even notice..!!

        • it was aaawful.. AWFUL.. people made fun of my nails.. the worst part was that I did a full mani-pedi.. the pedicure looked better, i don’t know why I didn’t take pictures of it..!!

          • It couldn’t have been that bad!! But I guess that just goes to show- they can’t all be winners! Haha. I’d never do anything dance on my toes cuz my little toenails are so small and I hate painting them so I always go for a plain color and leave it on till it’s all chippy and terrible looking.

              • I’m sure your feet are fine feet but to me- all feet are ugly. I just repainted my toenails mauve. I figured it’s close to nude w/o looking gross. I just want a “don’t even look at me” type of color.

  2. I did not notice any of the things you mention, although I can see the fuzzy now. Sorry about the disasticure experience…I HATE when that happens! It usually does happen when you’re in a bad mood anyway, thereby exacerbating it!

    • Yep exactly. It’s like when you go shopping in a bad mood- nothing fits right or looks good on you. That happens to me anyway. Maybe I’ll give the nude and neon thing another chance… but not right now. :p

  3. From your comments, I was expecting some horrible nail disaster but this doesn’t look as bad as you think it does. The lines are pretty even considering how bad mine usually turn out. Do you think you’d like them better if you had a different color combo?

    • I think a different color combo (specifically a different nude-ish color) would have made a HUGE difference. This was too sheer to do a tape mani with, and the orange hue to it made it look gross instead of making them compliment each other which is what I initially had in mind. I didn’t love the design of the tape, but that wasn’t my main problem. The execution due to the polish I chose is what ruined it for me. Tomorrow you’ll see how these nails were redeemed and worn for another day.

  4. Aww I know what you mean about your mood affecting your nail painting. When I’m in a mood I can’t do my nails. It gives me no inspiration or satisfaction :/ I think these came out pretty good though. I haven’t tried using the thing tape to peel off to make designs yet

    • It usually isn’t that hard but my grouchy mood was just ruining everything. Tonight I’m trying to do some nails for a bachelorette party tomorrow so I hope I can make something work!! Haha. Cross your fingers for me! ;)

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

