Stamped and Dotted Nails

Good Morning Polished People!!

I don’t know about you all but whenever there’s a holiday in the middle of the week it throws me off. I kind of feel like today shouldn’t be Friday yet, but then I also feel like this has been a long week.. I don’t know. It didn’t help that yesterday at work the kids were all in a funk probably because they all stayed up so late the night before. One of the kids told me he stayed up until 4am!! And he was at the park by 10am. I thought he might be telling me a little fib, but all day he was dragging and thisclose to falling asleep so I think he might have been telling the truth. Anyway, I’m tired too so I’m going to hurry up and show you the mani!

Stamped and Dotted Nails:

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with Ulta The Jungle Look.
  3. Apply top coat (I use Seche Vite) and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  4. Use stamping plate BM322 and SH Brisk Blue to stamp the design on each nail.
  5. Use a dotting tool or toothpick (I don’t have a dotting tool so I use a toothpick) to dot Ulta Celebutante in some of the circles created by the stamp.
  6. Apply top coat very carefully.
  7. Show your friends! :)

These were some nails I was going to use for a guest post on Alaina’s blog The Little Canvas, but then when I was talking to Gabi on Twitter she said I should go with something brighter for summer. I couldn’t argue, and as Nicole from Nicole Gets Nailed (don’t worry, it’s a nail polish site!! haha) has us all saying- Go Bright Or Go Home!!! :D You can see the nails I came up with pretty soon on The Little Canvas. I’ll keep you all posted when I get it written up and know when it’ll post :)

When I was doing these nails I also did a couple of variations. I did one variation with more purple:

The sun was going down so the lighting is weird and I’m seeing now that my nails were pretty beat up from work. :-/

I also did this variation, with a little orange:

I think I like either the ones with orange (even though my dotting was a little sloppy since it was on my right hand) or the original the best. Which is your favorite? Als0- do you think these are too dark for summer? I just liked the peacock-y colors so I wasn’t even thinking about seasonality when I did these. Good thing Gabi is the mani inspector because I don’t even pay attention to what’s in season! ;) Let me know what you think, and as always- thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!! :D

27 thoughts on “Stamped and Dotted Nails

  1. I think I like the original the best.
    No, they’re not too dark for summer! I don’t pay too much attention to that, anyway.
    Your stamps are always so interesting…I always get the colors wrong. I thought the base was blue at first, but it makes more sense that the blue is the stamp. It’s like a magic eye, lol!

    • Yeah sometimes it is hard to tell once they’re all done. :) Thanks, I’m glad you like them! I really loved them but then I think she was right- for a guest post I should PROBABLY think about other people and not just me. Haha. I wore my go bright or go home nails today and people seemed to really like them. Especially my too-much-eye-contact, play-football-w-me friend. Turns out neon green is his favorite color! Haha.

      • Thinking about other people…there’s something to consider…lol!
        Interested in seeing your go-bright-or-go-home nails, although they have been tainted by the creepy creeperton!

        • Hahaha even today my partner at the park was like “I think someone’s trying to show off” cuz that guy always takes off his shirt even when it’s just like 75 degrees! Haha. I’ll tweet em to you next time we are taking on twitter (and then delete them) or you can wait to see them in the guest post. :)

    • Thank you!! I do a stamped and dotted leopard print that I love so I thought I should try it with some other stamps. These circles just beg to be dotted! :)

    • Haha which do you think you like best now?

      I always use topcoat before stamping. I make sure I have a thick cost of topcoat between my stamp and my original color because that way if I stamp a little crooked or the stamp doesn’t fully transfer I can just use a saturated cotton ball and lightly swipe it over the nail and it will remove the stamp but not the base color. If you don’t use the top coat the cotton ball will remove your base color too and you’d have to start over from scratch. I don’t wanna do that, hence the top cost insurance. :)

  2. LOL…I used this stamp today too! hahahaha We really are going to be stamping twins for a while. Mine weren’t bright at all and my stamping was messy. I am so ready for the fall when it comes to nail polish. I like the original one better for sure.

    • Haha.. great minds think alike!! :) These stamps are so fun!! Tonight I have to unwrap every one (aren’t those blue sticky sheets a PAIN to remove!?!?! ugh) and try them since I’ve had a couple duds. BM said they’ll send me new ones tho so I’m not too mad. I know mistakes happen so as long as things are made right and they don’t act like I’m the problem, I’m good. Can’t wait to see your rendition! :)

      • The blue film gave me nightmares, but I’m glad they were well protected. So far I’m pretty impressed that they are sending you new plates with no issues.

        • Yeah they told me to check the rest of my plates but sent the one I already knew was defective out the same day I told them. Mistakes happen so I’m glad they’re fixing them quickly.

  3. Yes, they were a huge pain. I used another BM plate for my cousin’s nails today. She chose OPI Pink Friday, and I stamped the little dog print on her nails in black. They looked adorkable. I hope all my plates are ok.

    • I hope so too. I should be checking mine but as you can see… I’m not…. yet. I gotta get this guest post done that I’m supposed to be doing. Life’s rough blogging about nails, huh? Haha.

    • I meant to tell you those “adorkable” nails sounded cute. :) I’m going to do some with the paws and barbed wire like Blake Shelton’s (country music; I don’t expect you to know! Haha) tattoo. It’s gonna be a little “country” but it’ll be cute. :)

      Oh- the reason I’m replying again at 330 in the am- I checked all my plates (THAT was a big job!!) and all but three are good. 308, 309 & 310 are bad. You should probably check yours to be sure. It would suck if you found out too late for them to easily replace them for you. I’m hoping they’ll just send me new ones quickly and not make me ship these three back. :-/

      • What the fudge…you were up late with those plates. LOL I think I’m going to have to check mine too just in case. I’ll start with the ones that you mentioned. :)

        I do know who Blake Shelton is….isn’t he on The Voice? He’s cute. lol

        • Yeah he is!!!!! (cute. But also on the voice) Yeah you should definitely check those but you already did the orange slices which is one of them so hopefully you’re good. That’s actually how I found out some were weird- I loved the orange slices and was even more excited when I saw you used them so when I tried to use them- surprise!!! The etching was weird and I could NOT get a clean stamp. It was so infuriating. I hope the ones they send me are good. It’s not my fault they’re messed up but I still feel bad that I’ve had to contact them so much. It was bad QC on the first owl plate cuz it was a GIANT scratch across the whole middle of the plate but these ones w the weird etching- no one would ever know till they tried to use em. Let me know how yours are. Good luck testing them all. It was an all-night job. :-/

    • I definitely agree w GBOGH! :) The more I look at this mani the more I think I like the orange best, too. I just needed to do it a little more carefully and it’d look perfect. :)

    • Thank you! I think the orange is becoming my favorite. I mean- it IS my favorite color after all and cool colors w a warm accent always just look so nice. At least to me they do! :) Thanks for the comment!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

