White and Pink Needle Drag Nails

Hey Everyone,

I wore these nails to work on Monday and it made me think about offices that don’t allow bright nail polish. I don’t work in an office- I work in schools and being a sub I don’t really report to anyone so I kinda don’t have a boss. But I don’t think there are any restrictions on nail polish, and if there is, I certainly consider myself to be exempt from them. Subbing is HARD and the least they can do is allow me my nails. Haha. Anyway, I just don’t understand why offices don’t allow all kinds of nail polish. I can see wanting to keep nails at a reasonable length because that affects productivity but in an age where tattoos are common and there are a billion forms of self-expression why can’t a person wear bright nail polish?! I think it’s ridiculous. It’s like when I was getting my Masters degree- we had this interview workshop as part of a resume seminar I attended and they told us we should only wear black or grey to an interview. I was like “yeah freaking right.” If someone’s gonna judge me because I’m wearing a coral cami under my cardigan or a top with a little color on it there’s no way I wanna work for them. Can you imagine how much they’d be in your business at work if they can’t even handle a little color on your outfit? Oof. And just for the record, I’ve got pretty close to every job I’ve ever interviewed for so I think I’m good. Anyway, enough of my rant, let’s see these nails that I wore on Monday and actually really hated.

White and Pink Needle Drag Nails:

For these nails I used a base color of ChG White On White, then Essie Lights over top and drug it with a needle before using Seche topcoat. I really wanted these to turn out more draggy and not so marbled as my purple and blue nails but they just didn’t turn out how I wanted them. I kinda wanted them all to turn out like this:

But even this one isn’t quite right. I think I needed a thinner stripe of pink. I don’t really know but I need to experiment some more. The good thing is that all the kids LOVED them and when I saw my mom in the evening she said she thought they were cool so I started to think maybe they weren’t SO bad, just not what I’d expected. I think I’ll give needle dragging a little break and try out some of my recently purchased polishes. :) You’ll be seeing them in the near future! And one of them is (hopefully) a super-awesome holo!! :D

Are you allowed to wear bright nail polish at work? If not, has anyone asked their boss why?! And what exactly are the restrictions? Also- do you like these nails or do you find them incredibly mehhhh like me? Let me know what you think and as always, thanks for reading and commenting!! :)

11 thoughts on “White and Pink Needle Drag Nails

    • Thank you! I wanted the marbling to show up really well so I used two totally dif colors but then I was kinda disappointed. I’m glad you like it though. :) You guys are turning me around. ;)

  1. I don’t think I would be able to work in a place that restricted what nail polish I could wear! I think it’s ridiculous as well! I absolutely love these nails! I think they turned out really cool, maybe not what you were trying for but definitely very nice none the less!

    • Ugh I know right?! I don’t see what the problem is. They’re tiny anyway so I mean they’re gotta be the most inconspicuous form of self expression- it’s not even your hair that people automatically see, yknow? Anyway lucky for me I don’t have to worry about that at any of my jobs. :) Thanks for the comment and for reading!! Every time I see your mustache picture it makes me laugh a little.

  2. Haha this is awesome. We’re allowed to wear bright nail polish at work. At least, a coworker and I do and our boss never says anything lol. I think your mani looks great!

    • Haha… what is that saying… “it’s better to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permission”? That works! :) That’s how I do it at work, too. I just don’t ask. Plus, I can’t imagine they care. All the kids LOVE my nails. I think that’s half the reason why they like me so much. ;)

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

