How To Make Neon Polish Look Good

Hey Everyone!

If there is one particular type of polish I love and hate it’s gotta be neon. Ugh.. it’s so frustrating!! Neons are so beautiful in the bottle: retina-searingly bright and eye catching. They often come in my favorite colors like orange, yellow and green. I even like neon pink! ;) But the problem with neons is that they’re so clumpy sometimes and always seem to be difficult to apply. Even my bff nail polish brand China Glaze’s neons are a little tricky. I got these one ELF polishes from Ross a while back and they were pretty neon colors but the application was absolutely atrocious and un-workable. I should post those pics some day. I’m only saving them to use their bottles for frankens some day. Anyway, I got ChG Orange Knockout the other day and was disappointed and very frustrated when, after seriously like 6 coats, my nails still looked like this:

Even after so many coats you can see that they’re still pretty sheer. You can see my nail line pretty clearly and if you look carefully especially on the top picture you can see the stains from a foiling incident with purple polish from quite a while ago. It was clear that no amount of polish was going to make my nails opaque so I did what I should have from the beginning. I put on some underwear.

This is one coat of SH Celeb City over my Orange Knockout nails. You’ll see I didn’t worry about getting it all the way to the edges because I don’t want it to show on the edges at all. I wish I would have done this in the beginning because it would have saved me sooo much time and frustration!

Here are my nails with just 2 coats of Orange Knockout over the silver. See how much better that is?! Here are my final nails-

Neon Orange Nails:

How To Get These Nails (or other awesome neon nails):

  1. Use a regular basecoat. I used Essie Feed Me.
  2. Use a silver or white base color. Apply one medium coat but keep it away from the edge of your nails. In these pictures I used SH Celeb City.
  3. Apply 2-3 coats of ChG Orange Knockout.
  4. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and voila! Nails that can’t be missed!! :D

Do you have a love/hate relationship with neons, or have you mastered their application? Als0- what’s your stance on standout nails? Do you like drawing attention to them or would you rather your nails be a little more quiet? Let me know what you think, I always like to hear what you have to say. As always, thanks for reading and Happy Polishing!! :)

14 thoughts on “How To Make Neon Polish Look Good

  1. I’m a little confused, why do I see 2 different oranges??? Do they look that different in sunlight? One looks like a neon orange and the other looks like a creamy orange….

    • Well the weird one inside was just to show how they just about glow in the dark. The outside one is fairly accurate. It doesn’t photograph as bright as it is… It’s kinda weird. I just love how it glows so I was trying to capture that but I didn’t get a great pic. I think I posted some on twitter that were better at showing the glowy quality. :-/

  2. I feel like a total tard right now because I have never thought about wearing a white/silver under a neon. I got another CG neon a while back that I was having issues with: Rose Among Thorns. I applied like 6 coats too and it looked gross anyway. I was ready to just put it in the never again file. I’m going to try wearing some white underneath it.

    • Yes try it!! It should make a huge difference! It works like a charm for my decent neons but I do have some ELF brand neons that are just beyond help. At least I think they are. I may try making them super thin and giving them another go just for experimenting’s sake. I don’t understand how some polishes can be so goopy yet so sheer! It’s a horrible miracle.

  3. Pingback: 31 day nail challenge – Day 22 – Inspired by a song « Mae's beauty reports

  4. Pingback: Makeup.com Blog Feature « Mae's beauty reports

  5. Pingback: China Glaze Nail Lacquer Orange Knockout

  6. Pingback: Not Neon Enough For Nicole- FP Inkblot Blue Review | Polish Me, Please!

  7. Pingback: Sinful Colors Cinderella | Of Life and Lacquer

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

