Cult Nails Superpowers Collection (review)

Mannn… seems like it’s been a while since I got my Superpowers Collection in the mail. Time flies with work, Thanksgiving, Black Friday, and then getting the cold/flu for the last few days. :( The good thing is that I’m feeling better enough to at least put together a post or two. :D

The Superpowers Collection is made up of four polishes. You can see my initial thoughts about them here.

From L-R: Power Thief, Mind Control, Time Traveler & Clairvoyant (the new Unicorn Puke)

Power Thief is a lovely warm medium brown with tiny multicolor micro shimmer. The result is a neutral but unique color that you’re gonna love wearing through the Fall and Winter months. The multicolor micro shimmer in the brown is unexpected but sooo pretty! The formula is good, nothing crazy good nor bad. Opacity in 2-3 coats depending on how thick you apply them.

Mind Control is much less black than I originally thought. There is so much dark purple/fuchsia shimmer in it that the color comes across as a near black purple. It is EXACTLY what I’ve been in the mood for and I LOVE IT! When you put some polish on a piece of paper you can tell it’s a black base (to the best of my eyesight!) but on the nail it’s such a beautiful dark dark pink tinged purple. This is going to be my new favorite polish. I actually like this one the best to layer with Clairvoyant. The formula is thin, but with 2-3 medium-thick coats, it’s opaque and wonnnnderfullll!!!!!!! :D

 

Time Traveler is a much brighter blue than I expected. I will have to do a side-by-side but it looks a little brighter than Ulta Moody Blues. It’s really a pretty blue color. Just dark enough for me, but not too dark to lose its true blue-ness. :) I had seen some swatches that made me think this would be my fave under Clairvoyant, and it’s pretty but not my fave. What I DID love was that this is a one coater, no problem. One coat and it covered perfectly. I usually do a second coat just for the heck of it, but this one didn’t even need it. The formula is thick but not problematic in the least.

Clairvoyant. Ahhhh…. lovely, multicolored, semi-holographic and flaky and it looks like what the Rainbow Fish should eat. ;) It’s in a transparent purple jelly base, and I will eventually do a review on it alone, but for tonight I was only interested in using it for layering. I’m quite conflicted because I love this polish so much I’m not sure I even wanna waste it by making it thick enough to be opaque, but I think I still will. I think I’ll need to order a backup bottle though asap before it’s all gone (if it isn’t already).  As far as layering goes, I liked it best over Mind Control because I like the look of it over dark polish and the purple in Mind Control really complements the purple base. I can tell already that I’m going to like it over black, as well. I can’t wait to try it over pretty much every polish I own. I think this is one you can’t really go wrong with, even though I didn’t love it over my Nicole by OPI Khloe Had A Little Lam Lam… but hey, it’s not like it looked bad! :)

Power Thief with Clairvoyant layered on top

Power Thief with Clairvoyant layered on top

Mind Control with Clairvoyant on top, probably my favorite combo. :)

Clairvoyant over Time Traveler

Clairvoyant over Time Traveler, even without much light it still sparkles.

I don't LOVE Clairvoyant over the dark teal of Khloe Had A Little Lam Lam, but I honestly don't think Clairvoyant could look BAD over anything. ;)

What is your favorite layering combo for Clairvoyant? Or… do you prefer to wear it alone? Maybe I’ll love it alone, but no matter what I think I’m gonna wanna preserve it too much to use enough coats to reach opacity. :) Just call me a nail polish hoarder! Haha. 

2 thoughts on “Cult Nails Superpowers Collection (review)

  1. Pingback: You Don’t Know Jacques til you compare him to Cult Nails Power Thief | Polish Me, Please!

  2. Pingback: Cult Nails Mind Control Zebra Nails | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

